• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Are you using the cloud-based Lightroom apps for iOS, Android, Windows, Mac, and Web? Then you'll love my book, Adobe Lightroom - Edit on the Go!

    You'll learn how to use the Lightroom cloud ecosystem to organize, edit and share your photos. You'll also come to understand the thought processes used by professional photographers when they're editing their own photos, so you can transform your photos quickly and easily. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • 21 February 2024 It's Lightroom update time again! See What’s New in Lightroom Classic 13.2, Mobile & Desktop (February 2024)? for all the update news. It's mainly new cameras, new lenses and loads of bug fixes in this release.

Deleting files on android phone after import to LR Mobile

Status
Not open for further replies.

rmbrown

New Member
Premium Classic Member
Joined
May 22, 2021
Messages
2
Lightroom Version Number
Version 6.0
Operating System
  1. Android
I'm sure this question is asked and answered but apparently I don't know enough to find the info in a search. It's not from lack of trying I promise!

In short, I've gone on a trip and taken thousands of photos. I've installed LR Mobile for Samsung and I've sync'd those photos. I can log into the web app and see them.

I'm in the process of moving everything from google photos over to LR. Google photos has a feature to easily delete photos from my phone that have been sync'd already. Is there something similar in LR Mobile? If so, can you point me to it? If not, can you tell me how others handle the workflow? I know I can select and delete in the gallery but I can't tell what's been sync'd successfully. Often, when I'm traveling, ,I take pictures faster than they'll sync overnight with lousy hotel wifi. My fear, obviously, is that I delete something that hasn't made the trip to LR yet.
 
You can go to Settings and Clear Cache - this will only clear for photos safely in the cloud.
 
I haven't experimented yet, but I was under the impression that deleted LR's copy, but not the one in gallery, the original photo?
 
Ah, I see what you're sking. Yes, it will only delete the one from the Lightroom local library.
 
Yeah, there's not an easy workflow for that. You could open Lightroom and make sure it's finished importing before you clear photos out of the Gallery app though, to ensure they safely imported. Lightroom doesn't do it automatically.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top