• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The November 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes the ability to export the same photos as multiple sizes/formats in a single export, content aware fill for panorama edges and more. It does require a catalog format upgrade and there are updated system requirements, so you may want to wait a few days before upgrading.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options (such as TIFF format, renaming and color space), custom sort order on the desktop, copy/paste to multiple photos on iOS and more.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • Just a quick head's up - we'll be moving to a new server tomorrow around 2:30PM GMT. There should be very little downtime, but it may take your DNS servers up to 24 hours to update (although you can clear them manually).

Olympus in-camera HDR

BobT

Active Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
140
Location
Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
I have an Olympus E-M1. It has in-camera HDR mode. If the camera is set to HDR and raw shooting mode, the camera take a number of images at varying EV adjustments then outputs two images, one is the composite HDR as a jpg and the other is a raw with 0EV adjustment, that is to say, the correct exposure. Why? Don't ask! Anyway, both the jpg and the raw are given the same file number but of course with different extensions. When importing into LR, only the raw is taken up. This is of no use because it doesn't have the HDR effect. I suspect that LR assumes the files are identical so disregards the jpg and shows only the raw. The work around is to remember to switch to jpg mode when shooting HDR or deleting the raw in explorer before importing into LR but that's a bit clumsy. Is there a setting in LR that will allows it to import both images, that is to say, two images with the same file number but different extensions?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,805
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
If you go to Preferences > General tab, there's a Show JPEG images next to RAW checkbox that'll import them as separate photos in the Grid. The warning is if you shoot RAW+JPEG at other times, they'll end up as separate photos too.
 

Hoggy

Never take life, or anything in it, too seriously.
Joined
Nov 20, 2012
Messages
527
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Just out of curiosity, are you sure that's not a raw-HDR file?
If it's anything like the Pentax K-3's raw-HDR mode, it should have all the exposures in that one raw file. (Check the filesize.) The downside, is that LR still doesn't do anything with the extra exposures - making it rather pointless to me. I'd rather them just be separate and do the merging in LR. What's worse, is that if you ever do an 'update DNG previews & Metadata' or ever do a '2nd conversion' (like to alter compatibility settings) - the file will get flattened to just one exposure without you knowing it. ... Although come to think of it - I doubt your camera writes DNG's in the first place, so just doing an initial conversion will likely discard all but one.

I haven't checked, but I'm guessing the only one that LR will deal with is probably the 1st exposure the camera is set for.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,838
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Just out of curiosity, are you sure that's not a raw-HDR file?
I was not aware that any in camera processed HDR produced a RAW output file. Since RAW files are not RGB, I am not sure how you could process a RAW HDR image using the conventional RAW processor scheme of one file per exposure. I do see how Pentax could bundle 3 or more RAW files in side a single file envelop, but I do not know of any 3rd party app (like LR) that could properly process such a file.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,805
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Just out of curiosity, are you sure that's not a raw-HDR file?
No, Bob's right, it's just a standard 0EV raw file.
 

BobT

Active Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
140
Location
Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
If you go to Preferences > General tab, there's a Show JPEG images next to RAW checkbox that'll import them as separate photos in the Grid. The warning is if you shoot RAW+JPEG at other times, they'll end up as separate photos too.
Thanks Victoria! That's perfect.
I've since learnt the reason for providing a 0EV adjusted raw in addition to the composite HDR jpg, is so that one has fall back if the HDR proves unsuccessful.
 

Hoggy

Never take life, or anything in it, too seriously.
Joined
Nov 20, 2012
Messages
527
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I do see how Pentax could bundle 3 or more RAW files in side a single file envelop, but I do not know of any 3rd party app (like LR) that could properly process such a file.
Yep, that's what it is.. Several separate exposures bundled.
Outside of the full-size JPG in the raw, the only way to do anything with it, I think, is to use that crappy crashy Silkypix. But since that ain't about to happen for me, I haven't even bothered to check for sure. That's what makes that mode so pointless IMO.

Although, my understanding is that Pentax's Pixel Shift also uses the 4 separate raws bundled into 1 file - and I think at least one other manufacturer might do the same for their version of it. So it'll be interesting if the likes of LR or C1 will ever do anything with bundled raws. ... At least not flattening them without warning could be a nice start.
 

Ian.B

Active Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2014
Messages
982
Location
Mildura, NW Victoria, Australia
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I was not aware that any in camera processed HDR produced a RAW output file. Since RAW files are not RGB, I am not sure how you could process a RAW HDR image using the conventional RAW processor scheme of one file per exposure. I do see how Pentax could bundle 3 or more RAW files in side a single file envelop, but I do not know of any 3rd party app (like LR) that could properly process such a file.
I works very well too; even hand held. How I understand it: The camera makes jpg and raw files --- the jpg are made into the HDR (or panorama and stacked ) and the raw files are saved to the card and can be used in other ways. Jpg file disappear . Been awhile since I have used it, or the Oly for that matter . EM1 would have to be the best camera I have own or used ; so far ahead of the dslr cameras
 

Susan G.

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2018
Messages
1
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
If you go to Preferences > General tab, there's a Show JPEG images next to RAW checkbox that'll import them as separate photos in the Grid. The warning is if you shoot RAW+JPEG at other times, they'll end up as separate photos too.
The only thing I see is, "Treat JPEG files next to raw files as separate files". Is this what you mean? Is there anyplace that I can tell that the photo was shot in in camera HDR?
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,090
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Yep, that's the one. After ticking the box, you'll need to syschronize the folder that contains the raw. That will import the JPEG. All future raw/JPEG pairs will import as separate files. I doubt that you can tell if it's an HDR file, though. Well, if it was successful, it'll probably look considerably different from the raw image.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,838
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
following this thread, how does LR cloud deal with the RAW and jpeg files created in camera in my OMD E1 Mk2. I can’t work out which is the HDR image?
Applying what I understand about Nikon's in Camera HDR, it works like this: The camera shoots multiple RAW images to create the components of the HDR Composite. The camera processing software converts these to RGB (JPEG) and invokes the in camera HDR function. The composite HDR image is produced and saved as a JPEG. The Camera may throw away the RAW images (Nikon Does) or it might save them as RAW.

In my Nikon Z7 camera, I can set the camera to output RAW and if I do, the option to shoot an HDR image is unselectable. If I set the camera to output JPEG, then HDR is an option.
 

hanoman

Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2012
Messages
54
Location
46047 Oberhausen, Germany
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
In my understanding is the "HDR"-jpeg a tone-mapped HDR-Image (32-bit floating point) put in a 8-bit jpeg and that is an LDR (low dynamic range) image.
 
Top