• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • The February 2020 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic has a brand new Defaults system, the ability to set a specific monitor for the secondary window and PSB format support. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has the ability to import presets on Android, DNG export and Split View support on iPadOS. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.

Lightroom 6 (Perpetual) Issues after Install – For Windows Users

Status
Not open for further replies.

KiboOst

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2015
Messages
7
Location
France
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
No, and why the hell should I have CC app for a standalone version ??
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,998
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Hey...no need to shout at me, it was a polite question in an attempt to help you.

So, as you don't have the app installed, and you can't start Lightroom, then I don't know how you can install the update. I asked the question of Adobe yesterday, if I get an answer I'll be sure to let you know.
 

KiboOst

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2015
Messages
7
Location
France
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Jim, sorry, sincerely. Nothing wrong about you for sure. I must say I'm really fedup with all this adobe cc shit. adobe is definitely not anymore a company I will look at for products in the future. They just think about money and not at all about users ...
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,998
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I don't see it as negatively as others, I think there are reasons to have the CC app, but Adobe haven't done a very good job of explaining it to people. But I don't want to get into that debate again.

Could you help clear up my confusion? I know that installing a Lightroom 6 trial is installed via the CC app, is that different if you purchased (either upgrade or full license) LR6, i.e. it's a straight download and install, not facilitated by the CC app?
 

Smidgely

Plays well with otters
Premium Classic Member
Joined
May 1, 2015
Messages
20
Location
Herts., UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
LR fails to start with no network connection

I've successfully upgraded from LR 5.7 to 6.0 (and today, to 6.0.1) with no major issues so far, and it's showing as 6.0.1/perpetual licence.

I expected to be able to use LR with no network connection, assuming that rather like CC, it would need to "call home" occasionally so I thought I'd see what happens.
Apparently a network connection is required because without it, LR won't start - in fact it fails rather messily.

The splash screen appears over a blank grey LR window and is there for ~30 sec, before the last image being worked on is shown behind it along with a partially populated selection of LR components (an incomplete folders view and quick develop areas).
Clicking on the splash screen changes the cursor to a "busy" rotating icon with the image behind it alternating every few seconds between a full image and one with the top 1/5 showing as black. A "Lightroom is not responding" message occasionally appears and is removed almost immediately.

This continues until the network is reconnected, which restores sanity and LR continues starting normally. The connection can be removed once it's finished starting - at least, for around five minutes afterwards: I've not tested it for longer than this.

So while I understand the need for an online activation, I don't understand the need for one to simply use the product. Even CC versions can be used for some time with no network and I get the impression that the validation for a perpetual licence version of LR has been quite badly implemented.
At the very least there ought to be a more graceful failure (a simple dialog stating that a network connection is required, with "Retry" and "Quit" buttons) - but this requirement alone seems somehow "over-strict", considering this isn't a CC installation.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
15,384
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Smidgely, Welcome to the forum. I don't have a Windows Perpetual 6.0 license to test. But I can verify that the LRCC2015.0.1 version does indeed work without an internet connection. Yesterday Adobe release a patch to LR6.0.1. It addresses some startup issues. If you haven't installed the patch, you should/ It may resolve this issue.

Does LR6 require the Adobe App Manager to be running as a background task while LR6 standalone is running? If it does, then running the App manager even without an internet connection could be all you need to run LR6 too.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,998
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I expected to be able to use LR with no network connection, assuming that rather like CC, it would need to "call home" occasionally so I thought I'd see what happens.
Apparently a network connection is required because without it, LR won't start - in fact it fails rather messily.
I posted the following on the U2U forum yesterday, in response to another user who was claiming that it wasn't possible to use LR6 (i.e. the perpetual license version) without an internet connection:

"Staying signed-in and staying connected to the internet appear to be two different things as far as standalone LR6 is concerned. From my limited testing, provided you have remained signed-in (and thus activated), you can go offline for as long as you like and continue to use your purchased product. Lightroom and/or the CC app will locally still have you recorded as "signed in", so it will continue to function. Also from my limited testing, there is no prescribed "call home" interval (unlike the CC version), so I think in theory you can carry on using the product even if you never ever reconnect to the internet. Problems would only arise should you need to reactivate for any reason (system rebuild, for example), in which case you would find it easier to go online (though I believe there is still an offline activation protocol)."

Of course, that doesn't explain your issue, other that to say that you should be able to run while disconnected, so we need to figure out why yours isn't. For a start, before you disconnect, are you still signed-in (Help menu)....because you need to be to retain the "activated" status. Assuming you are, have you rebooted with your internet connection removed? Not sure why that should be needed, but for diagnostic purposes it's better to ensure you are disconnected when the system boots up. Then do you still get the same hang when you try to start Lightroom?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,998
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Jim, sorry, sincerely. Nothing wrong about you for sure. I must say I'm really fedup with all this adobe cc shit. adobe is definitely not anymore a company I will look at for products in the future. They just think about money and not at all about users ...
As promised, I spoke to Adobe about your issue yesterday, and they suggested trying to run the Adobe Application Manager to see if the 6.0.1 update shows up, and it so run it from there. To launch the application, you may find it under Start>All Programs>Adobe Application Manager (Win) or Applications>Adobe Application Manager (Mac), but if it's not listed there, the full path to the file is as follows:

Win: c:\Program Files(x86)\Common Files\Adobe\OOBE\PDApp\core\PDApp.exe
Mac: /Applications/Utilities/Adobe Application Manager/core/Adobe Application Manager.app

Double-click on the appropriate file to launch the Adobe Application Manager.

If you try this, could you please let me know what happens.
 
Last edited:

KiboOst

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2015
Messages
7
Location
France
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Launching PDapp it first download files to install itself, then install Creative Cloud Desktop (yes we are talking about a standalone version!!!), I connect with it, but still no update. But lot of adobe process running ...

Why the hell can't they just post a download link ? All was perfect for previous LR versions !! They are just killing a great product ...
 

KiboOst

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2015
Messages
7
Location
France
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Adobe wins, turning myself toward CaptureOne Pro. Will test it. And was a Lightroom lover and defender since v1 ! Bravo Adobe !
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,998
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Why the hell can't they just post a download link ? All was perfect for previous LR versions !! They are just killing a great product ...
There's a direct download link for the update available here: http://prodesigntools.com/adobe-lightroom-6-cc-direct-download-links.html#more-61627

Scroll down, you'll find the update link just below the links for the full product download.

This is not an official Adobe site, so I can't personally vouch for the update, but I'd certainly be prepared to try it.
 

rafikiphoto

Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2011
Messages
53
Location
Sevilla, Spain
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Adobe wins, turning myself toward CaptureOne Pro. Will test it. And was a Lightroom lover and defender since v1 ! Bravo Adobe !
I must say I sympathise somewhat with your sentiment. I have been a C1 user as well as LR for a long time and I'm testing the v8 trial now. I had a bumpy start with LR6 but have managed, with the invaluable help of the gurus on this forum, to get stabilised and working OK in standalone mode. However Adobe seem so set on shunting users to this cloud thing that I wonder whether this sop to stand-aloners will be the last; whether they will bother at the next upgrade. One thing that is making me hesitate is the lack of export plugins for C1 but I'm investigating that now.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
15,384
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
I must say I sympathise somewhat with your sentiment. I have been a C1 user as well as LR for a long time and I'm testing the v8 trial now. I had a bumpy start with LR6 but have managed, with the invaluable help of the gurus on this forum, to get stabilised and working OK in standalone mode. However Adobe seem so set on shunting users to this cloud thing that I wonder whether this sop to stand-aloners will be the last; whether they will bother at the next upgrade. One thing that is making me hesitate is the lack of export plugins for C1 but I'm investigating that now.
The only observation that I have to make about C1 is that they were far behind Adobe and even Apple in getting RAW file updates out for newly introduced cameras. This might not be a problem if you don't buy a new camera, but a PIA when you do.

Also $299 is a steep price to replace LR ($149/$79). But then if you like you can subscribe to CaptureOne Pro for $10/month. (Sound familiar?) For that $10/mo subscription you get C1 but not PSCC ;)
 

Modesto Vega

Active Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
326
Location
Redhill, United Kingdom
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Considering that according to your profile you use an X-Trans sensor I would not recommend using Lr 6 exclusively, it is a well known issue that Lr, including Lr 6, does not do a good job with X-Trans files.

As for the "CC thing", the debate appears to be more polarised than the political debate in my home country and your country of residence. It is, in my opinion, the single most polarising issue currently in digital photography; the debate always leads to a dead end with 2 parties unable to agree, unable to reach a common ground. The fervour on both sides reminds me of missionaries trying to convert the unfaithful and the unfaithful resisting the conversion. In my opinion, it is also an unwanted distraction from other far more important issues, a smoke screen, a layer of fog obscuring other more important issues. Personally, I think it is a sad day for photography.
 
Last edited:

Smidgely

Plays well with otters
Premium Classic Member
Joined
May 1, 2015
Messages
20
Location
Herts., UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Smidgely, Welcome to the forum. I don't have a Windows Perpetual 6.0 license to test. But I can verify that the LRCC2015.0.1 version does indeed work without an internet connection. Yesterday Adobe release a patch to LR6.0.1. It addresses some startup issues. If you haven't installed the patch, you should/ It may resolve this issue.
Hi Cletus, thanks for the welcome.

Hmm. Nice to have confirmation that a subscription product is actually less aggressive about checking rights than a supposedly stand-alone product! :shock:
I'd already installed the patch to 6.0.1 - I spotted the failing F1 help on 6.0 and thought that would be fixed pretty quickly, as it was, but the refusal to run without a net connection is unchanged on 6.0.1.

Does LR6 require the Adobe App Manager to be running as a background task while LR6 standalone is running? If it does, then running the App manager even without an internet connection could be all you need to run LR6 too.
I couldn't find anything on Windows' program menus relating to an app manager, although I believe it was running when the update to 6.0.1 was announced automatically - IIRC that was responsible on the 5.x releases for automatically detecting and announcing the availability of upgrades.
At any rate, while LR6 is failing to start or while it has successfully started, I couldn't find a process in the Windows Task Manager which looked like a app manager so I guess the answer to your question is "no".
 

Smidgely

Plays well with otters
Premium Classic Member
Joined
May 1, 2015
Messages
20
Location
Herts., UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I posted the following on the U2U forum yesterday, in response to another user who was claiming that it wasn't possible to use LR6 (i.e. the perpetual license version) without an internet connection:

"Staying signed-in and staying connected to the internet appear to be two different things as far as standalone LR6 is concerned. From my limited testing, provided you have remained signed-in (and thus activated), you can go offline for as long as you like and continue to use your purchased product. Lightroom and/or the CC app will locally still have you recorded as "signed in", so it will continue to function."
Yes, I agree with this - it does seem to be a one-off event and while I wasn't running LR6 for hours after successfully signing on, I did remove the network connection once I'd verified I was logged on and then ran it for 20 minutes or so with no issues; the Help menu still showed me as logged on.

"Also from my limited testing, there is no prescribed "call home" interval (unlike the CC version), so I think in theory you can carry on using the product even if you never ever reconnect to the internet. Problems would only arise should you need to reactivate for any reason (system rebuild, for example), in which case you would find it easier to go online (though I believe there is still an offline activation protocol)."
Agreed again, although I read this more as a "should be" than an "as running" description, because LR is clearly insisting on calling home every time it's started.

Of course, that doesn't explain your issue, other that to say that you should be able to run while disconnected, so we need to figure out why yours isn't. For a start, before you disconnect, are you still signed-in (Help menu)....because you need to be to retain the "activated" status. Assuming you are, have you rebooted with your internet connection removed? Not sure why that should be needed, but for diagnostic purposes it's better to ensure you are disconnected when the system boots up. Then do you still get the same hang when you try to start Lightroom?
Yes, when LR is started with a net connection the Help menu shows me as signed-in and good to go.
I see what you mean about starting Lightroom with the network connection as removed after booting and as booting Windows without it - but the end results are the same: Windows pops an exclamation mark on the taskbar's network connection indicator and LR still falls over...
 

Smidgely

Plays well with otters
Premium Classic Member
Joined
May 1, 2015
Messages
20
Location
Herts., UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cletus, I found the app manager: it's on the Windows program menu as "Adobe Creative Cloud". Oops... :oops:

On starting it manually it first updated itself (to version 2.0.0.74) - quite a hefty download too.
When finished it lists a long series of Adobe applications with a "try" button next to them and at the top, under "Installed Applications", it shows "Lightroom CC (2015)" - which is most definitely not what I'd installed. I also unchecked a couple of options which defaulted to selected: sync to the cloud and a typekit sync.
But hastily firing up LR I see it's unchanged and still showing as a perpetual license version.

Alarmingly, when closing Adobe Creative Cloud it says "Quitting will cancel any current application installs" - but that's either poorly worded or means something else because LR still runs fine even if ACC was closed first.

So to finally answer your question - it makes no difference whether the app. manager is running or not: if there's no net connection as Lightroom is started, it fails to start and gets stuck in a loop until the network connection is restored.
 

Jim Cruickshank

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
6
Location
BC Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Ligtroom 6.01 slows to a crawl when internet connection is down

I had similar issues to what Smidgley is reporting.

Yesterday my router lost its internet connection. Since I was busy editing a batch of photos I did not notice immediately. What I did notice was that lightroom slowed to crawl. I'm talking from instant response to 30 seconds to respond to slider moves. Completely black screens and "not responding" messages from windows.

Spent a long time troubleshooting - rebooting, turning graphics acceleration off and other things to no avail. Then noticed internet was down. Rebooted my router and lightroom returned to full and instant speed. I have quite a fast PC i7-3770 clocked to 4.6 GHz and an AMD HD-7850 2GB video card sop I wasn't expecting this horrible performance. Sysinfo below in case it helps anyone

My Suspicion

I had "Desktop App Usage Information" turned on in my Adobe account. I suspect lightroom was hanging while it tried to tell adobe "Jim just upped the clarity by 10%" etc. Been too busy editing photos to test this yet, but if correct is a real nasty bug.

OH, and you have to connect to the internet to turn this off. Or at least I can't find a way to do it except by logging in to my Adobe account. Even worse.

Jim


Lightroom version: 6.0.1 [ 1018573 ]
License: Perpetual
Operating system: Windows 8.1 Business Edition
Version: 6.3 [9600]
Application architecture: x64
System architecture: x64
Logical processor count: 8
Processor speed: 3.5 GHz
Built-in memory: 16328.4 MB
Real memory available to Lightroom: 16328.4 MB
Real memory used by Lightroom: 636.7 MB (3.8%)
Virtual memory used by Lightroom: 611.7 MB
Memory cache size: 1028.0 MB
Maximum thread count used by Camera Raw: 4
Camera Raw SIMD optimization: SSE2,AVX
System DPI setting: 96 DPI
Desktop composition enabled: Yes
Displays: 1) 2560x1440
Input types: Multitouch: No, Integrated touch: No, Integrated pen: No, External touch: No, External pen: No, Keyboard: No
Graphics Processor Info:
AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series
Check OpenGL support: Passed
Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.
Version: 3.3.13283 Core Profile Context 14.501.1003.0
Renderer: AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series
LanguageVersion: 4.40

Application folder: C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Lightroom
Library Path: D:\Lightroom Catalog\lr5catalog\lr5cat\lr5cat-2.lrcat
Settings Folder: C:\Users\Jim\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\Lightroom
Installed Plugins:
1) Behance
2) Canon Tether Plugin
3) Facebook
4) Flickr
5) Leica Tether Plugin
6) Nikon Tether Plugin
Config.lua flags: None
Updated Toolkit: Adobe Camera Raw 9.0 for Lightroom 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: Book Module 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: Develop Module 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: Import Module 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: Library Module 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: Map Module 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: Monitor Module 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: Print Module 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: Slideshow Module 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: Web Module 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.AgNetClient 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.AgWFBridge 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.Headlights 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.LibraryToolkit 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.MultiMonitorToolkit 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.archiving_toolkit 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.bridgetalk 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.catalogconverters 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.cef_toolkit 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.coretech_toolkit 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.curculio 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.discburning 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.email 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.export 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.ftpclient 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.help 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.iac 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.imageanalysis 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.layout_module_shared 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.pdf_toolkit 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.sdk 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.sec 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.socket 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.store_provider 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.substrate 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.ui 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.video_toolkit 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.ag.xml 6.0 (build 1014445)
Updated Toolkit: com.adobe.wichitafoundation 6.0 (build 1014445)
Adapter #1: Vendor : 1002
Device : 6819
Subsystem : 4311043
Revision : 0
Video Memory : 2027
Adapter #2: Vendor : 1414
Device : 8c
Subsystem : 0
Revision : 0
Video Memory : 0
AudioDeviceIOBlockSize: 1024
AudioDeviceName: Speakers (Sound Blaster X-Fi MB 3)
AudioDeviceNumberOfChannels: 2
AudioDeviceSampleRate: 44100
Build: Uninitialized
Direct2DEnabled: false
GPUDevice: not available
OGLEnabled: true
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,998
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Jim, welcome to the forum.

Thanks for the information. I'm not sure that your suspicion is correct, however. I've been running a lot of tests for the last few hours, with various settings enabled/disabled, and with the "Desktop App Usage" disabled in my Adobe account I still see the same problem, but I'll certainly pass on your information to the engineers looking at the problem.
 

Jim Cruickshank

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2014
Messages
6
Location
BC Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Hi Jim,

I've tried to replicate it the issue a few times today without success. I suspect I can't disable my internet connection in just the right way (or wrong) way to cause the issue. I've tried disabling my netywork card, configuring invalid DNS Server addresses and unplugging my router from the WEB, none of which would duplicate the problem. Unplugging the router might have introduced a touch of slowness, but nowhere near as drastic as the original issue. It might have introduced a 1/2 second lag here and there, but not a 30 second lag like I was originally experiencing.

Thanks for passing this on to the engineers @ Adobe.

Jim
 

WesternGuy

Active Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
224
Location
Alberta, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Well hello folks. I just returned from a week or so in Arizona photographing the Canyonlands and other interesting landscapes and I have been reading through all the "problems" that have happened while I was away. I am beginning to wonder if Adobe is trying to force "perpetual" licensees to the Cloud. I read in one of the posts about a 6.01 update and a patch to it. Where do I find this stuff? Is it a simple matter of downloading something and running it to get the 6.01 and patch installed, or do I need to use Adobe Appication Manager or what ever it is called? Maybe, if I do that, the new LR will work with my new computer.

WesternGuy
 

WesternGuy

Active Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
224
Location
Alberta, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
So what version are you actually running? 5.7 or 6?
I am running 5.7 as 6.0 will not run. It still hangs up when the "splash" page opens and goes no where. I really have no choice but to continue with 5.7 until this startup problem with 6.0 is resolved.

If I uninstall it, will the "uninstall" remove all associated catalogs and preference files and any other files that it creates on installation? Thanks.

WesternGuy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top