• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! Color Grading and improved zoom across the whole Lightroom family, plus graphical watermarks for the cloud-based Lightroom apps, as well as the usual new cameras, lens profiles and bug fixes. See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Shutdown Sync Concerns

Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
448
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Lightroom Version
LR Classic 9.1
Operating System
Windows 10
I've been experimenting with Adobe Portfolio. I found they do not have an integration with LR Classic but the workaround is to sync your photos to the cloud (FAQ p 483)

I've never enabled sync because I had no need for it. I followed the Adobe article Sync Lightroom Classic with Lightroom ecosystem which was sent to me by Adobe Portfolio help. Once sync had run, I found I already had albums in the cloud that were copied down. Some how, at some time in the past, I'd sync with the cloud before. Must have some other time I was playing around. These are prefixed with 'Cayman ...' in the following screen.

One question is that this is getting too confusing. I see what Adobe is doing (FAQ p 483) but it's not what I want at the moment. I'm going to shutdown sync and clear my cloud photos (FAQ p 492). I sounds like what I need to do is:
  1. Delete Lightroom Library from lightroom.adobe.com
  2. Disable Sync in LR Classic
  3. Delete Sync cache (FAQ p F-43)
Looking at the screen, I see there are duplicate copies of the same pictures that were already in my catalog before I enabled sync. If I do the above, will everything revert back or will I need to restore a backup?

1580346638706.png
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,526
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
If you do that deletion, it'll zap everything related to sync and give you a clean start. But it's enough to go into Classic's Preferences, LR Sync, and Delete All Synced Data.

In your situation, I'd suggest checking first that Lightroom Web doesn't have more than the 138 images that are in your catalogue, just in case any files haven't synced down into your catalogue. Clear up any duplicates as a separate exercise.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2017
Messages
346
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I found they do not have an integration with LR Classic but the workaround is to sync your photos to the cloud ...
Be aware that you do not HAVE to use the cloud integration, you can just upload images from your computer if you prefer. So, export from Lightroom, then upload to Portfolio.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,526
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Certainly you don't have to, but it's how I would recommend most LR content gets to Portfolio. It's far easier to manage / change stuff in LR, then just refresh the integration.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2017
Messages
346
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Yes, of course, I just thought that these statements:
I've never enabled sync because I had no need for it. [...] I'm going to shutdown sync and clear my cloud photos ...
implied that Paul maybe did not want to use the cloud integration. It's always useful to know what the alternatives are. :)
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
448
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
you can just upload images from your computer if you prefer. So, export from Lightroom, then upload to Portfolio.
Understood but I was looking for some simple like the plugins you get for Wordpress to LR Classic integration. Portfolio does not have that.
 
Top