• Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The December 2018 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes Custom Develop Panel Order, Snap to Grid in the Book module and more. Lightroom CC has lots of little improvements, including a face rectangle in People view on the desktop and Sharing improvements on Android. The Lightroom Queen eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Are you ever disappointed with your photos? Do you get frustrated when you’re editing because you’ve been told to move certain sliders, but never been told WHY? Do you wish you could transform your photos without having to spend hours in front of the computer? In my new book, Adobe Lightroom CC - Edit Like a Pro, you’ll learn:
    • how to to analyze a photo like a pro, saving you hours of frustration.
    • WHY you might want to move specific sliders, instead of just following recipes.
    • what the sliders are doing behind the scenes.
    • how to use sliders together, instead of in isolation, so you can get the optimal result
    The book is based on the cloud-native Lightroom CC desktop and mobile apps, but the principles also apply to Lightroom 6 and Lightroom Classic. The sliders are arranged into slightly different panels, but there's an included PDF that shows you where to find them in Lightroom Classic/6.

Lightroom v 5.6 does not upload almost all photos to my Mac

Joined
Jul 21, 2017
Messages
32
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
#1
I have a Mac Desktop (2011 mfg) with 320 Gb memory remaining out of 500 Gb. Running Mac OS X Sierra. I had no trouble uploading my photos to my Mac when I had OS X Lion. I have been using LR v.5.6 for years without a problem. Is it my Mac OS X or has something changed in LR. I am not using LR Cloud.

Example: if I shoot a couple hundred photos (RAW files) only 2 or three thumbnail photos appear on the LR Library. However, in All My Files on the Mac I do see the Adobe DNG files uploaded. As a result I had to resort to using Photoshop Elements for processing those DNG files.
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,512
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
#2
So you can see all of the photos in the Import dialog ok? And you don't get an error message while importing?
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2017
Messages
32
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
#3
So you can see all of the photos in the Import dialog ok? And you don't get an error message while importing?
Hi Victoria,
As in the example I gave, out of 100-200 photos uploaded I could only see 3 thumbnail images in the Library. The white (upload progress) bar just stops at the far right. Typically, when things were working in the past, the white bar disappears when uploading is completed and all photos are able to be seen as thumbnail images in Library. Worked that way (as it should) for years in the past. Now, uploading hangs. But strangely all RAW images are converted in".dng" and does appear in my Mac "All My Files" except that they now do not open in LR v.5.6, so I process them in Elements. I prefer LR.
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,512
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
#4
Converting to DNG is due to the setting at the top of the import dialog. Changing that to copy would be a good place to start.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2017
Messages
32
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
#5
Thanks Victoria. Does Copying create a RAW file or JPEG file in LR? What is the advantage of Copying? DNG is a non-lossy file, I believe.
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,512
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
#6
Copying copies the file in its current file format, whereas Copy as DNG converts to DNG format once they've finished copying. It sounds like that's where it's getting hung up, so it's a good place to start troubleshooting.
 
Top