Lightroom preset is auto adjusting photos in develop

Status
Not open for further replies.

CranberryCrush

Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
I am new to using Lightroom. In a previous catalog i created my first preset to try and make things faster for a set of photos i was working on.

i have now created a new catalog and imported a completely different set of photos for another client. After choosing and rting my photos i went to the develop tab to tweak them but as soon as i activate a photo the previous preset is applied. i can not see any option that is working to shut it off.

Why is this happening and how do i stop it??? I need to finish these photos for Christmas. :( :( :(

Also there is an arrow on the photos that i havent seen before 1 arrow going one direction the 2nd pointing the opposite way.

There's gotta be a quick way to erase the preset and start fresh???

Please help!!!!!

Thank you in advance!!

There are 2 ways that a preset can be automatically applied.

One is by choosing to apply the preset during the Import process (on the Apply During Import panel, right-hand side of the Import window). You can check this easily by selecting one of the images in the Develop module and looking at the History panel (left hand panel)....the first entry shows the Import step and if you have applied a preset during import that first history step would include both the word Import and also the name of the preset. If that is what you have done and you want to remove the application of that preset, go back to the Library module in the Grid view, select all the imported images, then open the Quick Develop panel (right-hand side) and click on the "Reset All" button. That will reset the images to the import state without the preset, so be aware that any edits you've already applied would be reset also. Also ensure you don't continue to apply that preset on Import.