Issues with color when exporting

Status
Not open for further replies.

JinxedStudios

Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Hi! New to the forum, but I've poked around some to see if anyone else is having this issue, and I'm thinking it must just be something stupid I've done and overlooked somehow. I edited a bunch of pictures yesterday, got them all the way I wanted, exported, and BAM- Waaaaay off of how they looked inside of LR4. (I should tell you, I've been using LR3 for about a year and a half now, so I'm not a total newbie!) I'm sure this must be something to do with color profiles or something, but I've looked everywhere and can't figure it out.
Here's a step by step of what happened yesterday when I was trying to find the problem:

1. I edited my photos in lightroom, got them all pretty and ready to go.

2. I exported them, same as I always do, and went to the folder where they are saved to take a look.

3. I freaked out. {lol} I went back to LR to see if I had inadvertently changed my export settings. {didn't.}

4. I exported a few of the photos a second time to make sure it wasn't a glitch.

5. I begged my photog friends on fb for help. (no dice.)

6. I made this for comparison: Question.jpg
See what I mean? The exported photo is all red and weird, while the LR screenshot is pretty! (The weird thing is, when I pulled the exported photo into PS, it looked right! I had to change a setting (think it was a proof setting) to get it to look like it did in my windows photo viewer, so that I could give the example.)

7. I changed the export color space to the ProPhotoRGB, and exported again. (Hadn't noticed that before.)

8. Viola! Picture looks right in my photo viewer!! Travel on over to Facebook to post my photo, thrilled that I figured it out!

9. Post photo- back to red and weird.

10. Come here, begging for help!

Thank you for reading this, and I REALLY hope you can help me to retain what little sanity I have left! :)

Last edited: