Importing photos from a scanner - is it possible and how to

Status
Not open for further replies.

jenthomas1

Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
I've just found a load of "old fashioned" photographs with their negatives. I'm wondering if it's possible to scan them (using my Canon MG4250 printer/scanner) directly into Lightroom and whether I can edit them from there. Or is there another way to get them into Lightroom for editing?

I'm really new to Lightroom and not very technical so need very simple instructions! So far all I've done with Lightroom is import images from my Nikon D3300 and some editing of them.

Welcome to the forum. You will need to use some intermediate software to do the scanning. Most AIO devices come with such software. There are other dedicated scanning software that will also do the job to. (The Preview App that ships with OS X is all you need with a Mac, there may be an equivalent to this in Windows,)
The Scanning app will scan images to a folder designated by the user. If you turn Auto Import on in LR and set this same folder as a watch folder, any TIFF or JPEG files that are created in the folder by the scanning app will automatically be imported by LR into your catalog.

If you happen to have Photoshop as part of the CC subscription, you can use that for certain scanners. Depends on what drivers the scanner uses, I believe. I actually found that Elements was better in some ways; seemed to simplify the steps. One real timesaver, though, is software that has good filters for dust removal. It can be a real pain to do that manually.

You will need to use some intermediate software to do the scanning...The Scanning app will scan images to a folder designated by the user. If you turn Auto Import on in LR and set this same folder as a watch folder, any TIFF or JPEG files that are created in the folder by the scanning app will automatically be imported by LR into your catalog.