How to Crop and Maintain Quality for BIG Prints

Status
Not open for further replies.
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Hello, I need help and hope this is the correct section for this question. I hope somebody can give me some guidance!

My problems are that I’m new to LR and to photography and, probably most important, I am “numerically challenged." By that I mean I struggle greatly trying to understand the relationships and effects that size, pixel count, dimensions, aspect ratio, and JPEG vs TIF have on the quality of a large, PRINTED photo.

I am mostly interested in being able to have my photos printed on canvas in large sizes all the way up to 30×20 or even much larger, when possible.

Most of my more recent photos are taken with my “beginner” DSLR (a Nikon D3200) which has 24 megapixels. I’m shooting in RAW format. Some of my older photos were taken with an old 4.1MP digital camera, and some with my Samsung GS3 smart phone, at 8MP.
I often need to crop or straighten my images (being new to photography) and find that I lose QUALITY at the larger sizes, ending up with images that begin to look pixelated or grainy when printed at the large sizes I want. Of course, this is more pronounced with the photos from my poorer cameras and less problematic (but sometimes still a problem) with the D3200.

Can you point me to a VERY SIMPLE tutorial that will help me understand these terms, how they affect my photos, and how best to use LR, GIMP, or other tools to achieve images that will stand up to these larger print sizes? Remember, I really am numerically challenged! :blush:

Thanks!

Last edited:
Sue, my suggestion is to go to the Luminous landscape website and purchase the "Camera to Print and Screen" tutorial.
This covers the full workflow from shooting all the way to making large prints, including canvas.

My strong suggestion is to cover this tutorial from beginning to end because you need a good primer on the topic.