A good back up method

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smorton

Lightroom Experience
Beginner
I am pretty new to LR but really enjoying it. I keep the images on an external hard drive and I can see that I need a good back up plan which I do not have.

Can anyone give me input on a good way of backing up my photos that is methodical and reliable. Right now I have a second external hard drive dedicated to backing up my LR external hard drive and although I am just getting started I already have over 7,000 photos imported in LR which will be the tip of the iceberg.

Right now, because I lack computer savvy and/or back up software, I simply copy and paste the photos I put in LR into the back up drive. This is not a good method I am discovering. I would like to back the photos up and have a third external hard drive which I can store off site. If anyone has a good system I would love to heard about it.

Any input is highly appreciated.

Thank you.

Smorton

You don't say if you're using windows or mac. If you have the space, duplicating the folder structure as a backup works well - it is easy to reconnect the catalog if needed and easy to find your files. Don't forget to back up the catalog as well. I use freefilesync to mirror my file structure which works well.
To automate it you can use a task scheduler (windows). Alternative software includes synctoy, however this only syncs one folder pair at a time (you may have a root pictures folder in which case it would work ok).

Last edited:
Smorton,

SPG has offered some good advice. It is good to have your backup structure mirror your working file structure. This way, if something happens to your working files, you can be up and running without worrying about where to put your replacement files. Another thing to keep in mind is to try and keep all of your images and folders under one top level folder. This will also help you keep things organized and allow you to easily move images if need be.