“Your photos and videos will be deleted in 30 days”. Have you ever received an email from Adobe like this? Why have I received it when I’m still paying my Subscription to Adobe?
Adobe delete accounts that have been inactive for a year, so it is a genuine email. However, the usual cause is that you’ve ended up with a second account at Adobe – in addition to your subscribed account.
What do I need to do?
To check it out:
- Look at the line in the email in point (2) that reads “To log in, your Adobe ID is:” as this tells you which email address this has been sent to.
- Check the email address that your Subscription is linked to. To do this:
- On Desktop, click Preferences. Under your name it will say ‘Subscribed’ (if you are!) and also the email address linked to the subscription.
- On Mobile, click the three dots, then App settings. This will show your name, the email that’s subscribed and the status below that (subscribed)
- Compare the email address the Delete email has been sent to. You’ll usually find it’s different to the subscribed one.
So unless there are also photos on the account that received the Delete email above, you can simply ignore it. If there are photos on that account also (so a duplicate account), follow the steps in the email to download them before they are deleted.
For extensive information on Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem, see Adobe Lightroom – Edit Like a Pro.
Note: purchase of this book includes the first year’s cloud-based Premium Membership, giving access to download the latest eBook (each time Adobe updates the software), email assistance for the cloud-based Lightroom apps if you hit a problem, and other bonuses.