In the past, software was only updated every 15-24 months, at which point, you bought a whole new book. Now, with subscription software, Lightroom’s being updated every 2 months. This means that traditionally published books are out of date within 2 months of publication.
To make sure that you always have the latest information, we publish updates in the Premium Members Area. As a Classic or CC Premium Member, you get access to the constantly updated Classic or CC eBooks, as well as exclusive discounts, and access to email Victoria if you can’t find the answer in the book. We’re currently working on a website update to be able to offer more exclusive content too.
For some years, we’ve given away a period of free Premium Membership with a book’s purchase, as mentioned just before the index in each book, and on the purchase pages.
In years past, the Premium Membership expired when the next LR version came out, and you extended your membership by buying the latest book. That never seemed quite fair, because someone could buy a book only a couple of months before a new Lightroom version came out, so they’d only get the benefits for a couple of months.
So when Adobe moved to subscription, we decided to simplify it and tie the complimentary Premium Membership to the date of purchase rather than date of publication. So with the Classic and CC books, we include a year’s Premium Membership access free of charge when you purchase a book, and you can choose to extend it at a much lower cost than buying a whole new book.
Unlike a traditional subscription, it doesn’t automatically renew, so you’re in control, just like you were when you bought the latest book. If you extend your Membership before it expires, you pay a lower renewal rate than if you wait until it’s expired. You don’t need to wait to the last minute, as the year’s extension is added onto your current expiry date. The renewal purchase buttons are shown at the top of the Classic or CC Premium pages when you get close to expiry.
If you decide not to renew at this time, you still keep the books you purchased and eBooks you’ve downloaded. You just revert to Free Membership, so you lose out on the Premium benefits, like being able to download the updated ebooks and email Victoria for help.
So in summary:
- When you buy my Classic or CC book, you get the instant download, plus you can access its Premium Members Area for a year, which is where you find the updates and bonuses.
- Just before that year runs out, you can extend your access to the Classic or CC Premium Members Area to continue to receive updates for another year at a lower cost ($11.50 / £7.95).
- If you’re seeing a red message saying it’s running out soon, it hasn’t run out yet, so you can still access the downloads by clicking on the book’s Click Here button as normal.
Feel free to ask if anything’s not clear. We’re working on a website update to make the whole process much smoother, which will go live in the next few weeks.