• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The December 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic is just bug fixes and new cameras in this release, but it fixes a whole load of macOS Catalina issues.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options and direct import on iOS and the ability to contribute photos to someone else's account from the desktop/mobile apps.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

zoom not matching ratio size

GretchenW

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
36
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
LR7
Operating System
Windows 10
HI. I'm having trouble zooming my images in the Library mode (this doesn't happen in Develop mode).
When I click "zoom" and have the ratio set to 1:1, the image only zooms in to the "fit" size.
I have successfully used LR for about 10 years, so I'm not a new user.
This problem has only started happening in the last day or two so I'm not sure what's going on.
No, the image is not cropped at all.
The image was shot on a 23 mp camera so I know it should zoom more than it is doing.
When I zoom, the ratio in the upper left corner says "1:1" but it's clearly only zoomed as "zoom to fit"
Help!
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,959
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Can you post a screen shot of the Loupe image showing the cropped dimensions (set in View Options) and post the screen resolution in pixels. The fact that you have a 23mp original image is irrelevant if the crop dimensions are smaller than the screen dimensions.
 

GretchenW

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
36
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Okay now it's acting REALLY weird.
When I click to zoom on SOME pictures in the same folder, it zooms to 100%
When I click on others, it does zoom to fit
then when it's zoomed in, I click again (to zoom out) and it goes to grid mode.
Yes I've restarted my computer
 

GretchenW

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
36
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Can you post a screen shot of the Loupe image showing the cropped dimensions (set in View Options) and post the screen resolution in pixels. The fact that you have a 23mp original image is irrelevant if the crop dimensions are smaller than the screen dimensions.
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,865
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
It's zooming to the size of the embedded preview, which isn't full size. You must have had it set to embedded preview when you imported. You can click on the Embedded Preview thumbnail icon or overlay to build a proper Lightroom preview at any time, or select all of the photos and go to Library menu > Previews > Build 1:1 Previews if you want to zoom in on all of them without waiting.
 

GretchenW

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
36
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
It's zooming to the size of the embedded preview, which isn't full size. You must have had it set to embedded preview when you imported. You can click on the Embedded Preview thumbnail icon or overlay to build a proper Lightroom preview at any time, or select all of the photos and go to Library menu > Previews > Build 1:1 Previews if you want to zoom in on all of them without waiting.
Is there some setting that causes it to do this? Because I have been building embedded previews forever and it has never done this before today
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,865
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Always the same camera? Do you always convert to DNG? At what stage?
 

GretchenW

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
36
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
It's zooming to the size of the embedded preview, which isn't full size. You must have had it set to embedded preview when you imported. You can click on the Embedded Preview thumbnail icon or overlay to build a proper Lightroom preview at any time, or select all of the photos and go to Library menu > Previews > Build 1:1 Previews if you want to zoom in on all of them without waiting.
(from a different folder)
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,865
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Interesting, the pixel dimensions are different. One is cropped?

First port of call would be to update Lightroom. Version 7 is ancient, we're on to 9 now. It could be a bug that's since been fixed.
 

GretchenW

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
36
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Interesting, the pixel dimensions are different. One is cropped?

First port of call would be to update Lightroom. Version 7 is ancient, we're on to 9 now. It could be a bug that's since been fixed.
Oh yes, actually I think that second image was shot with my Canon 6D, the first was shot with my 5Dmk3. But neither was cropped.
I am updating to LR9 now.
Thank you. Maybe that will help.
 

GretchenW

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
36
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
:(
Still happening - this one WILL zoom. (posted below is one that WON"t zoom)
And this time I was sure to pick and image that had not been edited or cropped in any way, and was the same camera (same day, actually) as the above image that wouldn't zoom to 1:1
(please excuse the horrendous color; this was a rejected image. hence I had done no editing to it.)
And yes I'm now updated to the latest LR version.
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,822
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
On one of the images that won't zoom, have you tried clicking on the "Embedded Preview" icon? That should cause Lightroom to update to a standard preview, which should then zoom correctly. Try that first, then if that works we can try to figure out what the problem with the embedded preview is.
 

GretchenW

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
36
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
On one of the images that won't zoom, have you tried clicking on the "Embedded Preview" icon? That should cause Lightroom to update to a standard preview, which should then zoom correctly. Try that first, then if that works we can try to figure out what the problem with the embedded preview is.
sure I can try that. Although it doesn't really explain why I can zoom to 100% on some embedded previews and not on others.
The whole reason I have been importing with embedded previews is to help me save time when culling. I don't really want to have my previews be standard previews because they will take more time to load as I'm culling. It's just frustrating that this problem seems to be a glitch of some kind, occurring on only some of my images but not others.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,865
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Different cameras again, looking at the dimensions. Some cameras embed full size previews and some do smaller ones, so that would be an obvious thing to rule out. Easy way to find out would be to load the raw files into Jeffrey's EXIF viewer and see what size previews show up. http://exif.regex.info/exif.cgi
 
Joined
May 9, 2015
Messages
394
Lightroom Experience
Power User
can you verify in the metadata panel that the cropped dimensions are the same as the original dimensions? Also, the last posted image (dan+Dawn -3403) is not showing at "Fit" zoom as indicated by the white frame in the Navigator panel (some image not in frame along the left edge)
 

GretchenW

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
36
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Different cameras again, looking at the dimensions. Some cameras embed full size previews and some do smaller ones, so that would be an obvious thing to rule out. Easy way to find out would be to load the raw files into Jeffrey's EXIF viewer and see what size previews show up. http://exif.regex.info/exif.cgi
OK so I just want to verify what you're saying, so I understand:
I have been shooting with both of these cameras for at least a year.
And this has NEVER, not once, ever happened before today.
I have ALWAYS imported and converted to DNG.
I have ALWAYS built embedded previews.
And I want to understand... you're saying that this is happening on one of my cameras (even though it has never happened anytime in the last 12 months) but not the other.
I hope I am not coming across as sarcastic, I'm not trying to.
It was my belief that I somehow hit a button or shortcut key or something to make this happen.
But it sounds like you are suggesting that it's not a setting that's off. Instead, the problem is that one of my cameras is doing this weird 1:1 preview thing.
Is that right?
 

GretchenW

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
36
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
can you verify in the metadata panel that the cropped dimensions are the same as the original dimensions? Also, the last posted image (dan+Dawn -3403) is not showing at "Fit" zoom as indicated by the white frame in the Navigator panel (some image not in frame along the left edge)
this is what I'm not understanding.
when I click the 1:1 zoom, it doesn't zoom as 1:1.
Instead it zooms as if it's "fit"
This is the question I'm asking. I don't know why it's doing that.
I want it to zoom to 100% when I set the zoom to 1:1.
It will do it on SOME images but not others.
Also, for example, LR will do the weird zoom on an image in Library module (click 1:1, but it only zooms to fit) - but then I go into Develop module on the same photo and when I click 1:1 it will zoom as it should.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,865
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
That's what we're trying to figure out Gretchen, hence asking you to confirm the embedded preview size in each file (one that's right and one that's wrong). We're not saying it's not a LR bug, but since you hadn't updated Lightroom for ages, it seems unlikely to be a bug. Perhaps a Lightroom setting or a camera setting, but we need to know what size the embedded preview is in the file, in order to figure out where in the workflow the problem setting might be. There's nothing immediately obvious, and it's not one we're seeing other reports of.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,109
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
but then I go into Develop module on the same photo and when I click 1:1 it will zoom as it should.
The way that Lightroom works, that's irrelevant. The Develop Module always creates a view from the actual raw file, so a 1:1 in develop, will always be 1:1. The problem is happening in the Library Module.

Also, when I import a raw file from my Pen F using Embedded Preview, zooming the image to 1:1 shows an image that is a bigger hunk of the original image than if I produce a proper 1:1 preview and zoom that to 1:1. Olympus makes an embedded preview that has fewer pixels than the raw image it is contained in. As Califdan said, you aren't seeing the image in "Fit" view--it is zoomed a little.

All this leads me to the conclusion that indeed your camera is sometimes producing embedded previews that are much smaller than expected. Did you do as Victoria asked and use Jeffery's exif viewer to see what the size of the previews in the problematic files really are?

 

GretchenW

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
36
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
That's what we're trying to figure out Gretchen, hence asking you to confirm the embedded preview size in each file (one that's right and one that's wrong). We're not saying it's not a LR bug, but since you hadn't updated Lightroom for ages, it seems unlikely to be a bug. Perhaps a Lightroom setting or a camera setting, but we need to know what size the embedded preview is in the file, in order to figure out where in the workflow the problem setting might be. There's nothing immediately obvious, and it's not one we're seeing other reports of.
okey doke
those last two examples I showed were after I had updated LR to the latest version.
One that's working; one that's not.
 

GretchenW

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2013
Messages
36
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
All this leads me to the conclusion that indeed your camera is sometimes producing embedded previews that are much smaller than expected. Did you do as Victoria asked and use Jeffery's exif viewer to see what the size of the previews in the problematic files really are?
I have not yet; I may need to revisit this tomorrow morning; I have a personal issue that needs attending.
I'm just confused, as I said, because I have multiple files from the same camera on the same date that were imported at the same time, some are having this "glitch" and some are not. Yes there are also images from the other camera.
However these two canon cameras are the only ones I've ever shot on for the last 12 months and this is the first time it's happened. So if my camera does indeed embed previews smaller than expected, it would make sense that I would have been seeing them all along for as long as I've owned this camera.

But, as I said, no I have not used the exif viewer to see the size of the previews, as I've been dealing with this personal family issue. I will try to do this tonight once everyone has gone to sleep.
 

BHousto

New Member
Joined
May 5, 2018
Messages
6
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
In LR preferences check the File Handling tab - see what the "JPEG preview size" is set to for the "Import DNG Creation".

It may have been changed to medium size vs full size? for the import of those specific problem files i.e. it may have changed for last import of a multiple card import?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,865
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
But, as I said, no I have not used the exif viewer to see the size of the previews, as I've been dealing with this personal family issue. I will try to do this tonight once everyone has gone to sleep.
No stress, hope you get it sorted. We'll be here when you're ready. I don't think we can go much further until we know the answer to that one.
 
Top