Develop module Your presets and Versions - Reminder

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
2,523
Location
Fort Myers, FL
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
With Lightroom Classic they introduced a new process version.

If you had develop presets you saved previously, those may have explicit version numbers in them. If they are applied on import no issue.

If you edit and THEN apply them, you may have an issue. For example, if you use the new range masking, then apply a version 3 preset, you may wipe out the range mask.

You may want to review your presets and if you have explicit versions in them, either remove or change to the new. You can do that by saving a new preset from a version four image, or by using a text editor and looking for something like:

ProcessVersion = "6.7",

And just remove that line. I think the number there is the ACR version at the time; mine above dated from Lightroom 4 which is when, if I recall, Process 2012 (now Process version 3) was introduced.

Again -- it matters not if, as most people do, the preset is applied FIRST, as subsequent operations like range masking will upgrade it. But if you have presets you apply later (say that only had sharpening in them), and leave the preset with the process version explicit, it can DOWNGRADE your image process and lose new features like range masking you may already have applied.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
12,698
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
You may want to review your presets and if you have explicit versions in them, either remove or change to the new. You can do that by saving a new preset from a version four image, or by using a text editor and looking for something like:

ProcessVersion = "6.7",

And just remove that line.

Or change it to ProcessVersion = "10.0"
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
12,698
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
LOL. When you save as new preset, the process version is checked and you cannot uncheck it (at least not in Lightroom Classic, you could in earlier versions). So it's probably safer to keep 'ProcessVersion = "10.0" in your presets, and not delete it completely.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top