• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • 17 August 2022 It's Lightroom update time again and there's a couple of minor improvements as well as new cameras, lenses and bug fixes! See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

XQD Import

GPR

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2016
Messages
16
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic Desktop
Operating System
  1. macOS 12 Monterey
I've been importing images to Lightroom for some years from various cameras (Nikon D3, D500 and a Fuji XT1) I've just bought a Nikon D5 and I'm having problems seeing my images when I put the ZQD card into a card reader.

In the left hand side 'Source' panel the D5 card show in 'devices' at the top. If I click on this the images are there but there are no previews available.

The folder I've usually clicked on is at the bottom under 'files' but when you click on the dropdown arrow there's nothing there.

Am I missing something here in my settings?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1127.jpg
    IMG_1127.jpg
    535.7 KB · Views: 19
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
19,316
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
FWIW, I have been importing My Nikon Z7 photos with the latest versions of LrC since ~2019 without difficulties. I use an QXD card reader. I’ve never tried it using the camera as a card reader. Paul may be on to something about requiring the latest LrC versions


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

GPR

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2016
Messages
16
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
The Lightroom Classic I've got is version 11.3.1 which, according to my account, is right up to date. I'm running it on an iMac.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
19,316
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
The Lightroom Classic I've got is version 11.3.1 which, according to my account, is right up to date. I'm running it on an iMac.

You probably have not set permissions in MacOS preferences to the removable volume “Nikon D5”. Also, you should not be selecting the volume in the volume list but select it at the top in the Device list.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

GPR

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2016
Messages
16
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
This a very odd fault. I've always used the drop down menu at the bottom without issues. I've just formatted the same XQD card and used it in the D500 and its fine with that. I've replicated the menu settings for file handling from the 500 but it still won't work with the D5. (the folder 101ND500 is what the import from the D500 looks like. See attached)

I've never had to set the permissions in MacOS preferences. How do I do that? Since I first started using Lightroom, I've never clicked on the top Device box to import. (I'm not disputing your advice BTW, but I'm inclined to think it must be a camera setting - but I don't know which one)

Thanks for your input on this.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1128.jpg
    IMG_1128.jpg
    89.4 KB · Views: 21
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,729
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Also, you should not be selecting the volume in the volume list but select it at the top in the Device list.
On the contrary, Cletus....Adobe's own advice is to select from the Files section, not the Devices section, which is why that's now the default in most cases. The simple reason is that it's now usually faster importing from Files rather than Devices following enhancements made in the Classic 7/8 timeframe, IIRC.
 

GPR

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2016
Messages
16
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
On the contrary, Cletus....Adobe's own advice is to select from the Files section, not the Devices section, which is why that's now the default in most cases. The simple reason is that it's now usually faster importing from Files rather than Devices following enhancements made in the Classic 7/8 timeframe, IIRC.
As the D500 is importing perfectly well using the same QXT card,I've compared its menus the D5 but even though they appear the same, the card can only be seen with shots taken with the 500.
Even in the device folder, with images taken with the D5, I get a message saying that previews are not available. (I am able to import these but that's not the point)
I keep going back to thinking it must be a file naming problem.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
1,665
Location
Bay Area, California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
1,665
Location
Bay Area, California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Adobe's own advice is to select from the Files section, not the Devices section, which is why that's now the default in most cases. The simple reason is that it's now usually faster importing from Files rather than Devices following enhancements made in the Classic 7/8 timeframe, IIRC.
Another benefit of importing from the Files section rather than Devices: It avoids long-standing bugs with date-based renaming of files and folders.

I believe the root cause of both the performance problems and date problems is that when accessing Devices, LR uses the operating system's very old industry-standard PICT protocol. It's slow and doesn't handle capture time correctly. But when accessing Files, LR uses the operating system's standard file-system protocols for accessing the external card/device, which Mac, Windows, and hardware manufacturers continually strive to keep state-of-the-art performance. And as for dates, LR reads the capture date from the files' metadata with no intermediating out-of-date PICT protocol.
 

GPR

New Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2016
Messages
16
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
I've sorted it now by changing the storage folder name too ND 500. The camera is a 2nd hand purchase so I'm guessing someone has messed around with it.
Many thanks for the input from you all on this. Much appreciated.
 
Top