• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

Xmp files

Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
83
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
In the Catalog preferences why does Adobe not have "write changes to xmp file" checked by default. It would seem this should be done for everyone.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2008
Messages
1,086
Location
Hong Kong
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I for one do not have this checked. I don't want LR writing changes to xmp files at times when it decides as that may interfere with my working. I prefer to have LR do this when I want it to, usually at the end of an editing session.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
1,347
Location
Queensland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
I do not write XMP to files ever. I take great care to frequently backup my Catalog.
All my images are DNG. Writing XMP to dng files embeds the metadata into the dng file. (as it does JPG & TIFF)
My image backup routines would be markedly affected as every file (changed by metadata writes) would need to be re-written to the 'Originals' and the 'Image Backups'.
A default "write to XMP" would mean my backups may be constantly changing for many folders of images.
(proprietary filetypes- NEF CR2 etc are not affected this way- as only the XMPs are written)
A default 'Write to XMP' also consumes time, and is just something I do not want to slow down Lightroom any more than necessary.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
10,097
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
In the Catalog preferences why does Adobe not have "write changes to xmp file" checked by default. It would seem this should be done for everyone.
Why do you think that? XMP does not hold everything you did on the image (it does not work with virtual copies, for example) so it's not an alternative for a catalog backup. And only Adobe software can read and fully use your develop settings. I see to reason to turn it on.
 
Top