• Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • You may have noticed this website was offline on Saturday 22nd September. Our web host suffered what is known as "a perfect storm". Everything that could go wrong, did go wrong. As a result of restoring backups, we appear to have lost about 18 hours of posts, but hopefully nothing more. If your post seems to have been affected, please do repost, and we look forward to helping. If you have any questions, you're welcome to use the Contact Webmaster link on the page footer.
  • Lightroom Classic 7.5 and Lightroom CC 1.5 have just gone live, and there's some exciting mobile updates to follow. And the big news... my Lightroom CC - Edit Like a Pro book has just been released too!
  • Are you ever disappointed with your photos? Do you get frustrated when you’re editing because you’ve been told to move certain sliders, but never been told WHY? Do you wish you could transform your photos without having to spend hours in front of the computer? In my new book, Adobe Lightroom CC - Edit Like a Pro, you’ll learn:
    • how to to analyze a photo like a pro, saving you hours of frustration.
    • WHY you might want to move specific sliders, instead of just following recipes.
    • what the sliders are doing behind the scenes.
    • how to use sliders together, instead of in isolation, so you can get the optimal result
    The book is based on the cloud-native Lightroom CC desktop and mobile apps, but the principles also apply to Lightroom 6 and Lightroom Classic. The sliders are arranged into slightly different panels, but there's an included PDF that shows you where to find them in Lightroom Classic/6.

When not to remove chromatic aberration ??

Joined
Sep 6, 2017
Messages
45
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
#1
I s there any condition under which I would NOT want to use the Lens profiles to remove CA?

i.e. does removal involve any distortions or noise, etc.?

I have about 5,000 photos in the catalog so far, from a variety of cameras Nikon D610 using the 24-85, an old screwdrive 300mm, various DX lenses on DX bodies, cheap old Canon or Optios, Lumix GX85 with the Leica 12-60, macro & Nikon micro lenses, etc.

If there are any lenses to not use remove CA on, let me know.
 

Hoggy

Never take life, or anything in it, too seriously.
Joined
Nov 20, 2012
Messages
527
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#3
I have noticed occasions where the automatic 'tick-box' CA removal will cause a colorless outline around edges. Some photos might even have that outline a bit when it's unticked, and ticking it will make it worse. In some situations, you may just need to untick it and do manual fringe corrections. In yet others, you may not be able to remove the outline, and the best you can do is mitigate it by doing a 'balancing act' --- as in some CA/fringe will generally be indistinguishable to outsiders, so it may look more natural to leave a little in, in those difficult situations.

Hopefully I'm making sense there. :)

It's not often that the automatic CA removal will make things worse, but I have seen it happen in my experience.
 

LRList001

Active Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
261
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
#4
I s there any condition under which I would NOT want to use the Lens profiles to remove CA?

i.e. does removal involve any distortions or noise, etc.?
[snip]

If there are any lenses to not use remove CA on, let me know.
Mirror lenses should have virtually zero CA. If they were just the mirrors it would be zero, but there is some glass.
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,360
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
#5
It was not enabled by default because it can slow performance slightly, and can introduce new fringing on occasion. That's pretty rare though, so I'd have it turned on by default for wide angle DSLR lenses that often show CA.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2017
Messages
45
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
#6
Thanks all. I have 2 more questions:

1. How can I turn both checkmarks on for all the 5,000+ files in my Catalog?

2. How can I have LR run thru and show me just the ones where it could not find a correction profile and generated that little error msg on the RH panel?
 

JohanElzenga

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
7,493
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#7
1: Select all 5000 images, go to Develop / Lens corrections and check the Chromatic Aberration box, press the Sync... button and in the dialog that comes up only check the 'Chromatic aberrations' checkbox.
2: I don't think you can search on that.
 

Hoggy

Never take life, or anything in it, too seriously.
Joined
Nov 20, 2012
Messages
527
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#8
That's pretty rare though, so I'd have it turned on by default for wide angle DSLR lenses that often show CA.
That wide-angle CA thing is one the 'rules' I seem to keep forgetting, no matter how many times I re-hear it. :)
So what I do is just have it enabled all the time, via either import preset and/or camera-default. Then if I notice it causing possible problems, I'll then do my 'investigation' routine.
 

LRList001

Active Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
261
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
#9
Thanks all. I have 2 more questions:

[snip]
2. How can I have LR run thru and show me just the ones where it could not find a correction profile and generated that little error msg on the RH panel?
You could use the metadata to set a filtre on the body and lens combination. That would find all the ones for that combination, once you have found one that doesn't. Not perfect but better than nothing.
BTW, the top end, expensive long lenses have very low CAs too. All that money does go somewhere!
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2017
Messages
45
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
#10
Thx - Can I trust that it is only certain lenses, lens+body combo, or all-in-one cameras that have lens corrections lacking?

I seem to be finding out that LR is a very poor database program...
 

LRList001

Active Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
261
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
#11
Thx - Can I trust that it is only certain lenses, lens+body combo, or all-in-one cameras that have lens corrections lacking?

I seem to be finding out that LR is a very poor database program...
No. I can only speak to LR 6 (and before). For some reason LR will fail to apply the corrections to lenses it does know about, from time to time. It is a 'feature'. I don't know if it is fixed in LR7/Classic/whatever. It is easy to know when LR has [not] done this as by selecting the lens manufacturer (make), LR fills in the rest automatically. You might be thinking about LR the wrong way. Like all software, LR has idiosyncrasies. Some are bugs, some are features and some are down to user error. As you are just starting out, most problems will be user error. Learn to do things the LR way and it will improve. LR is by far, by a country mile, better all round than alternative products. There are others that out perform LR in some key areas, (eg parts of Develop), but none match the totality of the package as a workflow. LR is a raw editor and is poor at local corrections. It is not a layers editor at all. LR is it its best making global adjustments. It is also excellent at handling a shoot with thousands of images (this is where the competitors fall down, or even fall over). Given LR is built on MS's SQL engine, I'm not sure what you mean by LR being a poor database program. It isn't a database program at all, it is a raw editor. I suggest you get a book on LR to learn the basics. HTHs.
 

Hoggy

Never take life, or anything in it, too seriously.
Joined
Nov 20, 2012
Messages
527
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#12
I seem to be finding out that LR is a very poor database program...
:laugh: Yeah, LR is a damn good DAM and editor with a database, but a database program, it is not. There are some quite basic improvements in DAM functionality that have been suggested by even some high-profile people in the industry since the betas, but still haven't materialized.

But like LRList says, it beats other similar programs by a country mile. Capture One may be inching closer toward the DAM functionality, but only inching.. And after several years, it still chokes on a measly ~3000 image catalog, when I test drive it at many dot releases!
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2017
Messages
45
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
#13
I've read 3 or 4 books on LR. I come from a world where you can search on a lot of 'things' in a database, and I will point out that:
1. LR is claimed to do 'Library Management'
2. Implementation of a program on top of SQL does not address how well or thoroughly the implementation is done.

I can readily accept the LR is better than others of its kind however.
 

PhilBurton

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
1,383
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#14
Given LR is built on MS's SQL engine, I'm not sure what you mean by LR being a poor database program. It isn't a database program at all, it is a raw editor. I suggest you get a book on LR to learn the basics. HTHs.
Lightroom does NOT utilize MS's SQL Server as its database engine. I wish it were. :cry: First, people who are knowledgeable in this area will all tell you that it uses a free client database called sqlite. Sqlite has several deficiencies. It can't support multi-user operation, and it can't support a catalog based on a different system and access via LAN.

Regardless, the issue is how well the program solves user problems and addresses user needs. And there are many discussions here on this forum addressing these points.

Phil
 
Top