• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The November 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes the ability to export the same photos as multiple sizes/formats in a single export, content aware fill for panorama edges and more. It does require a catalog format upgrade and there are updated system requirements, so you may want to wait a few days before upgrading.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options (such as TIFF format, renaming and color space), custom sort order on the desktop, copy/paste to multiple photos on iOS and more.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

What is the best method to resize / compress already exported images?

Biff

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
448
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Version
8.3
Operating System
Windows 10
What is the best method to resize / compress (for uploading and showing on one's website) already saved / exported images in best quality (for the Internet) which are stored on a hard drive?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,835
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Re-export the image from LR with different sizing and quality settings geared for the intended use of the image.
Reimporting involves decompressing the lossy JPEG. There will be data loss when creating the 2nd generation JPEG from the 1st generation JPEG. While the data loss could be minor, it is cumulative and 3-5 generations will see a significant loss in quality.

The best approach with the least data loss would be to re export with the parameters to produce the size and quality in a new 1st generation JPEG.

As for which app to use to create the 2nd generation lossy JPEG, I would prefer PS over LR as I think PS has more visible controls over the JPEG outcome and LE JPEGs are often more trial and error to produce the size and quality that you wish.
 

Biff

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
448
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Ah sorry, I missed to mention that these exported images are in tif. So I had stored / exported the images in the tif format on my drive.

Re-export the image from LR with different sizing and quality settings geared for the intended use of the image.
To re-export means to export the images again, so it is a usual export? Yes, I would do it if I had used Lightroom in the way it should be used (and not wasted 500 GB space on the drive). So unfortunately I did not create a virtual copy for each version / crop of the same image I edited but just went back in the history of the image / same virtual copy and edited it again in another way and exported it again and so on. So re-exporting is not possible unfortunately.

The best approach with the least data loss would be to re export with the parameters to produce the size and quality in a new 1st generation JPEG.
To re-import means to add these images to Lightroom's catalog like usual? These images never had been imported, these (tifs) are "copies", actual exports (from the originals added to the catalog) after having eidted them.
As for which app to use to create the 2nd generation lossy JPEG, I would prefer PS over LR as I think PS has more visible controls over the JPEG outcome and LE JPEGs are often more trial and error to produce the size and quality that you wish.
I am not able to use Photoshop. What does "LE" mean? The best would be if I could do it with Lightroom if there will not be any drawbacks / quality losses, may be that is the case with these tifs.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,835
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Ah sorry, I missed to mention that these exported images are in tif. So I had stored / exported the images in the tif format on my drive.
TIFF images are saved losslessly. So, my cautions about JPGs do not apply. Califdan's recommendation to re-export still applies . If you do not have the original processing in LR, them you can import the TIFF and resize and compress the image.

Note: LE was a typo for LR (Lightroom)
 

Biff

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
448
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,835
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
How does one do a re-export?
If you exported the image initially from Lightroom. All you need to do is export it again from the same original imported image but change the export settings to resize and compress the image to the desired new size.
If you do not have the original processing in LR
What is that?
If the image file that you have did not come from your LR catalog inventory, then you do not have the editing (processing) that was done to create the image that you want to resize
 

Biff

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
448
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
If you exported the image initially from Lightroom. All you need to do is export it again from the same original imported image but change the export settings to resize and compress the image to the desired new size.
So I have to import - add them to Lightroom's catalog - these images, as if the were new ones and export them just the usual way with settings for use on the Internet?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,070
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
So I have to import - add them to Lightroom's catalog - these images, as if the were new ones and export them just the usual way with settings for use on the Internet?
No, of course not! You select the original image in Lightroom, choose ‘Export’ and set the size and jpeg compression to what you want for use on the internet. That is the whole idea behind the non-destructive editing in Lightroom: whenever you need an image for something, you export it right there and then with the settings you need for that particular purpose. Exported images are for one-time use only. You do not resize them for another use, you simply export a new copy.
 

Biff

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
448
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
You did read the entire thread? The original edits (virtual copies of different versions) respectively many of them are not available anymore because I used Lightroom in a wrong way, unfortunaltely. So the original images all are still available in the catalog but not all or most of their edits / editions / versions.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,070
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
You did read the entire thread? The original edits (virtual copies of different versions) respectively many of them are not available anymore because I used Lightroom in a wrong way, unfortunaltely. So the original images all are still available in the catalog but not all or most of their edits / editions / versions.
No, I didn’t read that, and I get the feeling others who advised to re-export didn’t either. That obviously changes everything. If you don’t have the original edits, then you have two choices. Either redo the edits (best choice, but may be difficult) or indeed import the exported version and use that as a new original.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,835
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
So the original images all are still available in the catalog but not all or most of their edits / editions / versions.
It is very difficult to understand what you currently have. Let's try this:
  1. Do you have the original?
  2. Is it in the current LR catalog?
  3. If it is in the current catalog, does it have the adjustments (edits) that you want to export.
If your answer is "yes" to all of these questions, then all you need to do is Export using the resize and compression the you now want.
If the answer to #2 is no, then you need to import the original, edit it as desired and Export using the resize and compression the you now want.
If the Answer to #1 &#2 is yes, and #3 is No, then you need edit it as desired and Export using the resize and compression the you now want.
If the answer to #1 is NO, then all you have is the derivative edited TIFF which you will need to import into LR and then Export using the resize and compression the you now want.
 

Biff

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
448
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Either redo the edits (best choice, but may be difficult) or indeed import the exported version and use that as a new original.
The first would be too much work, so the only the latter is possible.

Very sorry about that bad expression. I was not quite sure about what the "originals" meant. What Johan says is what I meant, I do not have the original edits respectively most or many of them I do not have.

1. I do not have most or many of the original edits / original edited versions (virtual copies), but I have the original imports (and images which I had imported to Lightroom / added to its catalog).
2. Yes, the ones I mentioned under 1. are there.
3. Unfortunately the most or many of them do not have the edits.

So I just have to import the tifs and export them with the desired settings. May be I should use another / new catalog only for these tifs? Or rather add some or one keyword to those imported tifs in the catalog I usually use?

Well, well, such can happen if one obviously does not use Lightroom correctly. If only I...
 

LRList001

Active Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
320
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
The first would be too much work, so the only the latter is possible.

Very sorry about that bad expression. I was not quite sure about what the "originals" meant. What Johan says is what I meant, I do not have the original edits respectively most or many of them I do not have.

1. I do not have most or many of the original edits / original edited versions (virtual copies), but I have the original imports (and images which I had imported to Lightroom / added to its catalog).
2. Yes, the ones I mentioned under 1. are there.
3. Unfortunately the most or many of them do not have the edits.

So I just have to import the tifs and export them with the desired settings. May be I should use another / new catalog only for these tifs? Or rather add some or one keyword to those imported tifs in the catalog I usually use?

Well, well, such can happen if one obviously does not use Lightroom correctly. If only I...
This might be one of the very rare occasions when creating a new LR catalogue makes sense. But only if you intend to throw it away after the new exports, ie lose the work again. If you might want to do work in the future (and that is what got you to this place last time), then you are much better off using a keyword or other filtre option and keeping those tiffs in the master catalogue. If you want to retain different versions of the same file (ie, different edit points in the develop history), virtual copies will help.
 

Biff

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
448
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
So I would rather add / import the tifs to my already existing catalog and keep them (with a special keyword) for later use.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,835
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
So I would rather add / import the tifs to my already existing catalog and keep them (with a special keyword) for later use.
Given your situation, Importing the processed derivative TIFFs into the master catalog would be my preference too. Adding that special keyword is a creative solution.
 

Biff

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
448
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Alright, so I will do it.

Many thanks!
 
Top