What happens when re-importing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ernie

Active Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
398
Location
Little Rock, Arkansas
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I have some high iso shots I ran through LR in version 1.1. They had some of the "watercolor" look so much talked about. Now I want to develop them in 1.3 to see what difference there is. I did one and it's better now. But I got to thinking-I know, I've been warned against that-what about the adjustments I had previousely made? When you re-import an image does it revert back to the original raw (the LR default) settings as if you had never worked on it, or does it add another dose of default settings to whatever you had exported it as? I hope I made the question clear, seems kind of wordy but couldn't figure how else to say it. Thanks, Ernie
 
You can just Select the images and press reset in Quick Dev or Develop to bring them back to basic raw. Then re-devleop or do new presets.

Don
 
OK, thanks. I had wondered about that. I wasn't sure if reset took you back to an original raw or just to what it had been imported as, which in this case would have been a raw with adjustments applied to it.
 
When you re-import an image does it revert back to the original raw (the LR default) settings as if you had never worked on it

My 2 cents, it depends on whether you've written XMP data with the original. If you have, Lightroom uses those changes as a starting point on import. If you have not you'll get the original unedited RAW. To be sure, follow Don's advice and reset settings once imported as that will undo editing found in the XMP. If there were no changes, reset won't do anything.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top