• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

what happens to original if delete smart preview?

guido.coza

Active Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
142
Location
Cape Town, South Africa
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
6.x
Lightroom Version
8.4.1
Operating System
  1. macOS 10.14 Mojave
I want to clean up my pictures, delete bad pics, out of focus, shaken or simply got better ones. I do this mainly at work (My own boss ((-: !) I do not want to take my external drive with every time. Do I go thru my pics and mark what I don't like anymore with a x, and than delete
Is there a way that the originals are deleted as soon as I plug the external drive back in?
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2018
Messages
454
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
The best way is to mark ("X") the photos as "rejected", then once back home, connect the ED, open LR, select all photos and select the menu Photo>Delete rejected photos to permanently delete them.
You can also add a filter to not display the rejected photos. That way, as soon as you press "X" on a photo to set the flag, the photo will disappear from the display as if it was deleted.
 
Top