• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • 18 October 2022 It's Lightroom update time again and there's a new AI-based Masking tools and a new Content-Aware Remove Healing tool, as well as smaller features, new cameras, lenses and bug fixes! See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Library module Weird problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Apr 4, 2019
Messages
12
Location
South Africa
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
Lightroom Version
LR6.14
Operating System
  1. Windows 10
devmodule.JPG
libmodule.JPG
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2019
Messages
126
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Classic
Are you sure that this is not the same picture?? there is no indication that this is the result of the developing actions you took. Did you really save the manipulated picture?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
23,947
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I suspect it’s because it’s heavily saturated. Develop uses a much wider color space, whereas Library has to drop down to AdobeRGB because it uses rendered JPEG previews.
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2019
Messages
12
Location
South Africa
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
I suspect it’s because it’s heavily saturated. Develop uses a much wider color space, whereas Library has to drop down to AdobeRGB because it uses rendered JPEG previews.
Mmm, interesting Victoria - that geranium is that saturated red and to my my eyes the result I see in the develop module matches the flower ...
So, you are saying that when I export a photo from the library after developing the RAW file as SRGB for web usage I lose that saturation?
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2018
Messages
493
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
when I export a photo from the library after developing the RAW file as SRGB for web usage I lose that saturation?
Unfortunately, yes. These satured red doesn't exist in sRGB and they will remplaced replaced by a less saturated red that exists in sRGB.
BTW, you can use the soft proofing in the develop module to see on your screen what your image will look like in sRGB.
For such images where there is very saturated color, I have them printed on a specific provider capable of printing with a large gamut. The result is nice but the price is 4 times the price on on standard provider!

If you send your image to be seen on someone's screen (by email or thru a web site, for exemple) remember that most screen are not able to display colors outside sRGB, therefore these people have no way to see your saturated colors on their screen...
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2019
Messages
12
Location
South Africa
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
Unfortunately, yes. These satured red doesn't exist in sRGB and they will remplaced replaced by a less saturated red that exists in sRGB.
BTW, you can use the soft proofing in the develop module to see on your screen what your image will look like in sRGB.
For such images where there is very saturated color, I have them printed on a specific provider capable of printing with a large gamut. The result is nice but the price is 4 times the price on on standard provider!

Ah yes, I forgot soft proofing ... thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top