• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The August 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes advanced GPU support, batch HDR/pano merge and more. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has deleted photos on the desktop/mobile apps, as well as video support and batch metadata editing on Android. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

Webgalleries, Flash, Firefox and IDN domains

Status
Not open for further replies.

alagazam

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2009
Messages
7
I have a domain name that is an IDN domain (this one is using a swedish character). When uploading Web galleries made in Flash there is problem viewing them in Firefox on a PC; they simply do not work. They work fine in both IE6 and IE7. The problem does not appear at all on Macs.

This is what happens (view with Firefox on a PC):

http://www.xn--stlberg-fxa.se/test/index.html
I have searched for a solution but found none. Adobe has nothing on their web site, and that's probably because this is a small problem for almost everyone but us with IDN domain names.

Has anyone else encountered this problem, and maybe found a solution?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,427
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I haven't a clue, but welcome to the forum anyway! Hopefully a web magician will be along shortly! ;)
 

Tomaz

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2009
Messages
8
Hi,
http://www.idnforums.com/ says this "Currently we encourage those who have interest in IDN domain names to use Firefox browser from Mozilla or upgrade to IE7. Currently Microsoft Internet Exploror 6 (IE6) doesn't support IDN domains. Opera, & Safari also already support IDN domains."

Longtail Video has this problem and comment.
http://www.longtailvideo.com/support/forum/Bug-Reports/14633/IDN-domain-name-problem

"In Firefox (3.x), JWPlayer embedded with swfobject fails to locate the FLV when the site uses a IDN domain name (for example "motörhead.com"). It works in Safari. I'm not sure whether this is a swfobject or JWPlayer bug."

"If you have characters above 127 in your file URI, you should urlencode the file URI.'file': encodeURIComponent('http://www.motörhead.com/path/filename.ext'),"

Hope this helps

Tom
 

Tomaz

New Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2009
Messages
8
Thanks for the welcome Kiwigeoff, I'm now going to bed and hope you'll be around when I come back tomorrow when we can talk about my own Lightroom mystery.

Tom
 

alagazam

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2009
Messages
7
Thank you!

Even though I haven't been able so solve the problem, I am impressed by the quality of the answers so far.

The problem itself bothers me a lot. I don't wanna urge my readers to use another web browser than Firefox just because they can't see my Lightroom web galleries. :)

I haven't a clue, but welcome to the forum anyway! Hopefully a web magician will be along shortly! ;)
 

alagazam

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2009
Messages
7
Thanks for your interesting answers. I'll check them out.


Tomaz;377'9 said:
Hi,
http://www.idnforums.com/ says this "Currently we encourage those who have interest in IDN domain names to use Firefox browser from Mozilla or upgrade to IE7. Currently Microsoft Internet Exploror 6 (IE6) doesn't support IDN domains. Opera, & Safari also already support IDN domains."

Longtail Video has this problem and comment.
http://www.longtailvideo.com/support/forum/Bug-Reports/14633/IDN-domain-name-problem

"In Firefox (3.x), JWPlayer embedded with swfobject fails to locate the FLV when the site uses a IDN domain name (for example "motörhead.com"). It works in Safari. I'm not sure whether this is a swfobject or JWPlayer bug."

"If you have characters above 127 in your file URI, you should urlencode the file URI.'file': encodeURIComponent('http://www.motörhead.com/path/filename.ext'),"

Hope this helps

Tom
 

LightCode

Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
58
Location
Roma - Italy
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
The problem itself bothers me a lot. I don't wanna urge my readers to use another web browser than Firefox just because they can't see my Lightroom web galleries. :)
Hi, I have built my web photo pages with LR galleries, and meet non problems with FF (under Win) ;)
 

LightCode

Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2008
Messages
58
Location
Roma - Italy
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Using an URL with a IDN?
opss! I'm sorry, I didn't understand correctly you problem...

as a workaround you could host your galleries in a different domain
 

alagazam

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2009
Messages
7
No problem. :)

A workaround is not an option though. Only if the problem is impossible to solve.

opss! I'm sorry, I didn't understand correctly you problem...

as a workaround you could host your galleries in a different domain
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,427
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Excellent answer Tom, welcome to the forum!
 

HansKK

New Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
1
No problem. :)

A workaround is not an option though. Only if the problem is impossible to solve.
In FF addresseline type: "about:config" hit ENTER.
In the filterline type: "network.IDN_show_punycode".
Click twise on the line left in the bodybox so it change value from false to true, at the same time status change from default til user set.

Now your site works in FF, but you will see that the stuf filled in the addresse line is not looking readerfriendly (it will show "www.xn--stlberg-fxa.se" where you typed in ""www.stålberg.se")


/Hans
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top