• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The August 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes advanced GPU support, batch HDR/pano merge and more. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has deleted photos on the desktop/mobile apps, as well as video support and batch metadata editing on Android. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Are you ever disappointed with your photos? Do you get frustrated when you’re editing because you’ve been told to move certain sliders, but never been told WHY? Do you wish you could transform your photos without having to spend hours in front of the computer? In my new book, Adobe Lightroom CC - Edit Like a Pro, you’ll learn:
    • how to to analyze a photo like a pro, saving you hours of frustration.
    • WHY you might want to move specific sliders, instead of just following recipes.
    • what the sliders are doing behind the scenes.
    • how to use sliders together, instead of in isolation, so you can get the optimal result
    The book is based on the cloud-native Lightroom CC desktop and mobile apps, but the principles also apply to Lightroom 6 and Lightroom Classic. The sliders are arranged into slightly different panels, but there's an included PDF that shows you where to find them in Lightroom Classic/6.

Virtual Copy with editable history?

rebop

Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2008
Messages
69
Location
Palo Alto, CA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Version
Lightroom version: 6.14 [ 1149743 ]
Operating System
Windows 7
Hi folks,
I have images totally edited in Lightroom. Client has now requested PNG's with only the first few edits such as straightening and cropping done. I thought I would create a virtual copy and roll back the history to a point that suits his need. As an aside, still not sure why he needs this, but....

I found Virtual Copies have only one history point of creating the virtual copy! I just assumed :)

Is there a way to do this? In other words make a copy or even edit in Photoshop and save as a different image for a place in the stack of hstory without losing all the changes performed after that point?

Thanks!

~Bob
 

rebop

Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2008
Messages
69
Location
Palo Alto, CA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Thanks John. Are you saying I would not lose history if I selct, let's say step 3 orf 10 in history, create a copy there and go back to the original image and select the final history point? I thought that selecting an earlier point and performing any changes overwrites the subsequent hostory so did not wan to try that unless you belive its "lossless" for history steps.

~Bob
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
8,814
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Thanks John. Are you saying I would not lose history if I selct, let's say step 3 orf 10 in history, create a copy there and go back to the original image and select the final history point? I thought that selecting an earlier point and performing any changes overwrites the subsequent hostory so did not wan to try that unless you belive its "lossless" for history steps.
I didn’t try it but I think it should work. You are not performing any changes, you just created a virtual copy. If it doesn’t work, then you could try the following. Copy settings, go back in history, create a virtual copy, select the original and paste settings.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,563
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
There's no issue, it works as Johan described. When you create a VC from the original, no matter what history step you have selected, no additional history entry is made to the original, the "Create Virtual Copy" step is only added as the first step of the VC. So select the history step of the original, create the VC, and on the original select the latest history step to revert to the edited image.
 
Top