Video editing

BobT

Active Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
140
Location
Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
#1
I understand how to trim a video from either end but how does one cut bits out of the middle? If LR can't do it, is there a plugin that can?
 

johnbeardy

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
4,541
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
#2
Lightroom's video editing is very basic, Bob, and you can't really cut bits out of the middle. You can use virtual copies to trim the ends and then view each VC in sequence, but that's a horrid workaround.

To do this you really need another program, not a plugin. Your profile doesn't say whether you have CC and therefore Photoshop, but Photoshop's video editing features are surprising powerful and this keeps you in a photographic mentality/skillset. I often feel it's better to deepen one's knowledge of a program one already has. But if you want to get into serious video editing, the Adobe program would be Premiere Pro, or you may be happier with Premiere Elements which is its consumer version.

John
 

BobT

Active Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
140
Location
Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
#3
Thanks, John! That's a shame. It seems to me that it would be relatively simple to add another couple of sliders to provide greater editing flexibility. Are you listening Adobe?
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
19,890
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
#4

BobT

Active Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
140
Location
Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
#5
Thanks Victoria but I wont be putting in a feature request. If they aren't reading this blog, more fool them.
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
19,890
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
#6
They can't possibly read everything that's out there Bob. They can't even track their own main forums because there are so many posts. Some of us have links to Adobe and pass things back in general conversation when we remember, but a proper feature request is the only way to ensure it's tracked for consideration.
 

RikkFlohr

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Adobe Representative
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
1,837
Location
Twin Cities, MN
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#7
Thanks Victoria but I wont be putting in a feature request. If they aren't reading this blog, more fool them.
Some of us do read the blog. Victoria is right. If the feature is of importance to you, you should put it on the official forum as an Idea. (provided it doesn't exist already - in which case add your +1) If there are others who share your frustration, they can their comments and support in place where Adobe staff is present.