• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The May 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. There's a brand new slider called Texture, available across the whole family of apps. Lightroom Classic includes a new tool called Flat Field Correction. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has lots of big improvements including cloud trash, invitation-only web galleries, improved chromatic aberration removal and more. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes. You'll also notice the CC's have disappeared off the end of the names, so we've updated the forum names to match.
  • Are you using Lightroom CC on Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, Apple TV or in a web browser? Are you syncing your photos to the cloud? Then you'll love my new book, Adobe Lightroom CC - Edit Like a Pro! It shows you how to use the full Lightroom CC ecosystem to organize, edit and share your photos. You'll also learn the thought processes used by professional photographers when they're editing their own photos, so you can transform your photos quickly and easily.

Using Lightroom CC as an input for Lightroom Classic CC

emesewe

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2018
Messages
4
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Lightroom Version
Lightroom CC 2.02 and Lightroom Classic CC 8.0
Operating System
macOS 10.14 Mojave
In Victoria's very interesting diagram relating to "Which version do I need" it seems to indicate that one should use Lightroom CC as an input to Lightroom Classic CC. Quoting from the diagram after selecting that Lightroom CC is not enough as follows:

"Workflow --Add your photos to Lightroom CC on WIndows, Mac, iOS or Android to get the originals to the cloud. Designate one desktop computer to use Lightroom Classic and store your local archive of photos."

Now this is very interesting to me, but it seems to bypass the input dialog for Lightroom Classic CC and all of the features of it. I don't see anywhere how one could proceed once adopting this workflow.

I would be very appreciative would comment and help me understand this recommended workflow. I have purchased both of the books and don't see it there. In fact I see, what I think is, contradictory recommendations as to workflow. But I freely admit to being totally wrong and confused.

Thanks for your help!!
 

Conrad Chavez

Active Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2012
Messages
259
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Now this is very interesting to me, but it seems to bypass the input dialog for Lightroom Classic CC and all of the features of it. I don't see anywhere how one could proceed once adopting this workflow.
In the Preferences for Lightroom Classic, if you click the Lightroom Sync tab, there is a Location section. This applies some of the options of the Import dialog to the images downloaded into Lightroom Classic from Lightroom CC cloud storage.

There's an option called Specify Location for Lightroom CC Ecosystem's Images, and a Choose button that lets you pick the folder where you want to download the images. I have set this to the same destination folder that I use for the Import dialog box in Lightroom Classic.

There's a second option called Use Subfolders Formatted by Capture Date. I have set this to use the same date format that I use in the Import dialog box in Lightroom Classic.

By setting those two options, any images synced down from Lightroom CC cloud storage are filed into exactly the same folders as the images I import from my camera cards in Lightroom Classic. They merge perfectly into the same folder hierarchy.

Not everything is perfect, because many Import dialog box options are missing. For example, I rename my photos on import, but there's no rename option in the Lightroom Sync dialog. I had to set up a Smart Collection to filter for unconformed filenames, and every once in a while I go in there, Select All, and press F2 to rename them all using my standard import renaming preset.
 

emesewe

New Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2018
Messages
4
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Thank you very much for your thoughtful reply! I will give this a whirl
 

Jim Wilde

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,448
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
In Victoria's very interesting diagram relating to "Which version do I need" it seems to indicate that one should use Lightroom CC as an input to Lightroom Classic CC. Quoting from the diagram after selecting that Lightroom CC is not enough as follows:

"Workflow --Add your photos to Lightroom CC on WIndows, Mac, iOS or Android to get the originals to the cloud. Designate one desktop computer to use Lightroom Classic and store your local archive of photos."
Which of Victoria's books is that a quote from? Which page?

Without seeing that, I suspect the information relates to the challenge (for those such as myself) of trying to upload originals to the cloud. LR Classic cannot do that, it can only upload Smart Previews, so in the context of uploading originals LR Classic's import process would be useless, and hence is "bypassed". Only by adding images to any of the LRCC apps would the originals be uploaded.

However, if one prefers the LR Classic import workflow, and is happy with only Smart Previews in the cloud, you can do that instead.
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,144
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service

Remi-dk

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2018
Messages
2
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Which of Victoria's books is that a quote from? Which page?

Without seeing that, I suspect the information relates to the challenge (for those such as myself) of trying to upload originals to the cloud. LR Classic cannot do that, it can only upload Smart Previews, so in the context of uploading originals LR Classic's import process would be useless, and hence is "bypassed". Only by adding images to any of the LRCC apps would the originals be uploaded.

However, if one prefers the LR Classic import workflow, and is happy with only Smart Previews in the cloud, you can do that instead.
If you do imports from LR Classic, because of the better import dialogue, then you can just sync the smart previews to CC via a Collection, then do an extra import of the same raw files in LR CC, then it merges nicely without duplicates.
 
Top