• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The August 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes advanced GPU support, batch HDR/pano merge and more. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has deleted photos on the desktop/mobile apps, as well as video support and batch metadata editing on Android. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Using Auto Tone Control on multiple images after import

Resoman

Active Member
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
153
Location
Elgin, TX
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Lightroom Version
LR Classic CC, 8.1 release
Operating System
macOS 10.14 Mojave
I've gotten to like using Auto Tone Control as a starting point on my LR imports. Yes, I should have applied this upon import, but I forgot, and I've got a few hundred photos from yesterday where I would like to use Auto Tone Control. Doing a "select all" and clicking on Auto doesn't seem to do this, but I can do it on individual photos with no problem. What am I missing?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,558
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
You possibly haven't turned on "Auto Sync" if you're doing it in the Develop module, or selecting the images in the Grid View if doing it using the Library module's Quick Develop.
 

Zenon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
1,246
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
You can do it with this plug-in. I use it all of the time because you can do it with multiple files in the Develop module. Not only that you can control Auto to taste. I don't let Auto drop contrast as much as Sensei thinks it should.

The last tool - Personalized Auto Tone

Jeffrey's "Bag-o-Goodies" Lightroom Plugin

I also use this. It made it much easier as now I can set a range for NR and masking based on ISO. A good starting point which made things much easier fo me.

bulk-develop

Both require a small donation and will require another with next upgrade. Not 8.2, 8.3 and so on. When LR9 is released so about once a year.
 

Zenon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
1,246
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Note: I don't use Clarity and Contrast with Bulk Develop. I have my own base setting for Clarity at import.
 

Resoman

Active Member
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
153
Location
Elgin, TX
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Thanks, all!
When I went to Grid view, it worked!
 
Top