• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The August 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes advanced GPU support, batch HDR/pano merge and more. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has deleted photos on the desktop/mobile apps, as well as video support and batch metadata editing on Android. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

update previews in lightroom

hillsadam

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
5
Hi There,

so when i've edited a shot in photoshop and then saved it back to lightroom, if i then make further changes to that file and save again in photoshop, how do i update instantly the shot in lightroom to reflect changes? it seems to take a while on its own?

Adam
 

sizzlingbadger

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
2,561
Location
New Zealand
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
It should happen pretty much straight away, it usually takes a couple of seconds for LR to build the new preview. I have seen issues in the past when it takes longer or didn't happen at all until changed modules. Are the files exceptionally large ?

You can force a re-build via Library/Previews in the menu.
 

Dan Murano

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Messages
2
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
The Library solution only worked on the library file, but not the image in the develop module. I even tried opening the image in Photoshop and saved back over it. I got it to work by closing Lightroom (v6) and reopening the program.
 

Zenon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
1,284
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
I just tried it. The first edit took about 18 seconds. The second edit took about 30 seconds. Not sure instant exists but it depends on your computers processing speed.
 
Top