Undo oddities whilst still importing

Status
Not open for further replies.

I Simonius

Active Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
591
Location
Norfolk UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Whilst still importing files I zoome din on one image and set auto tone on and decide to undo it. What actually came up was the 'undo set copyright' notice - presumably it was undoing a process that was going on during import?
 
Sounds like that's what happened. But that's a little counter-imtuitive, you really wouldn't expect that.

I assume you're referring to the pop-up display that announces undo's,etc. It would be interesting to look thru the imported images (depending on the size of the import) to see if that's reflected in the history of one of them.
 
Brad Snyder;2'323 said:
Sounds like that's what happened. But that's a little counter-imtuitive, you really wouldn't expect that.

I assume you're referring to the pop-up display that announces undo's,etc. It would be interesting to look thru the imported images (depending on the size of the import) to see if that's reflected in the history of one of them.

It would but I don't have time:(

Yes I wa referring to the pop up display. It certainly is counter intuitive - in fact downright daft if you ask me:lol:
 
I have also observed this behavior, and just did some tests to confirm loss of data, and yes-- unfortunately that is happening. During import, I did various adjustments on images just imported, and did an undo on the adjustments. About half the time, along with the proper undo, LR actually did an undo on the metadata that was being applied during import . Multiple consecutive images were affected, and multiple metadata fields in those images were blank when the import completed! So if you have run into this scenario, check your metadata since some is likely missing.

"Daft" seems applicable, along with bug. This is one more instance of serious issues with undo that have been reported in the forums.
 
I have run across this also; the undo entries generated while importing get intermixed with undo entries generated as I work (that is, when I'm importing and working at the same time). If I undo in this situation, the undo is as likely to be applied to what was going on for the import as to what I just did via the UI. (Then, since the import is still adding more undo entries, a redo fails to fix the undone metadata.)

Overstepping the bounds of a bug report: perhaps LightRoom could cache (and hold separate) all the undo entries from the import, until that's complete; that would prevent an undo from removing metadata, and also allow a redo to work (if the import finished, I undid, and then realized I'd undone import actions not UI-edit actions).
 
Mark, if that's still happening in LR3.3, then it sounds like an old bug didn't get completely fixed. Definitely worth an official bug report, at least if you can reproduce it reliably.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top