Underwater Color Correction

Status
Not open for further replies.

bjay.tiamsic26

Lightroom Version Number
Lightroom version 9
Operating System
  1. Windows 10
Hi. I am new to lightroom and I have watched tutorials about underwater color correction but I still find it difficult to manipulate the photo.
If you are on my shoes, what elements will you be adjusting to correct this photo?
GH015023_1598177116574.jpg

Search the web via Google for some photography websites that discuss the blue correction. There are I'm certain some Lightroom Develop presets that correct for the loss of colors underwater .

I'm an underwater photographer so understand your issue. Keep in mind that it's the column of water the light is passing through and not just the depth. For example, if you are at 30' and your subject is 10' away, the water column is 40' which will influence the spectrum lost.

The approach I find works best, without a strobe, is to find something you know is black, white or gray in the image. In your image, I'm not sure if that means the flipper or bathing suit. Best is have 2 strobes and get in close. Care is needed because it's easy to get a good picture with the wrong colors.

Another observation is that you were shooting into the light so your subject is shadowed. That may require PS in order to bring up the exposure in the subject.

Another tool is Vivid-Pix LAND & SEA SCUBA | Fast, Easy photo editing software

what elements will you be adjusting to correct this photo
Sorrry, just read your specific question and my response may have not been specific enough. What you need to do is while the temperature/tint (white balance). Once you have that, it's normally standard processing.

One caveat is that while you can get your subject in white balance, the background will likely be different because the light has a larger water column