• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! New cameras (including the Canon R5/R6), lens profiles and bug fixes, and the ability to disable built-in lens corrections for specific new cameras. Here's the usual list

unable to print from plug in extras because I get a none defined

ualcaptret

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
5
Lightroom Version
5.7
Operating System
Windows 10
I recently got a new dell 3671 computer and a friend and I reinstalled lightroom 5.7. I would print to my Canon pixma pro-100 printer by going to file-plug in extras and click on print. this would take me to a page where I selected paper type, size, resolution, rear tray, border etc and then I would print. On the new computer I get the none defined when I go to plug in extras.
I can print from the print on the upper right task bar but am unable to get all the printer setup windows and cannot do a borderless print..
Also there is no exit options window when I shut down LR, it justs shuts down. I tried LR Queen set preferences but would not enter.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,496
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Normally you don't go to File > Plugin Extras when you want to print. You go to the Print module..
 

ualcaptret

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
5
Thanks John. when I go to the print module or printer setup I cant find how to select paper and print borderless. it seemed I got a better print when I went through plug in extras that is not available to me anymore.
Also why does LR shut down without the usual option window where I click skip til later?
Also all my pictures did come through the transfer but all are unedited which is probably my fault. We had to put them in F drive on the new computer because I guess the SSD is much smaller.
Thank you John for your Help. Sure a lot of bugs to work out with a new computer.

Bob Kelly
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,496
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
"select paper and print borderless"

That's in Page setup, Bob. It's a button on the lower left of Print, but there are also relevant controls in the right hand panel. Plugin Extras is usually irrelevant to print unless you're doing something like sending your prints to a third party.

"Also all my pictures did come through the transfer but all are unedited which is probably my fault."

To me this seems more urgent and serious. All your editing work is stored in the Lightroom catalogue, an lrcat file, which you should have copied across to the new computer. Did you not do this? Did you have backups of it? I'd recommend investigating.
 

ualcaptret

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
5
John. with lightroom open under catalog are only 119 photos. under folders it says F drive free 549 G/916 G. All my photos unedited are in F drive-users-
home-pictures. This was done by the shop that transferred everything from the old to the new computer. Any idea where I should look for my edited photos?
An aside I see you are from London. When I was living on london I was flying 727's out of LHR and we stayed at the St James apartments close to the palace.
 

ualcaptret

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
5
John. A new problem with print module.
I import a photo, develop mode it shows, able to edit. When I go to print module the image disappears and instead there is a blank sheet of paper. The display shows a blank sheet of paper and print & printer buttons on lower right faded. upper left of screen shows page1 of 1, paper letter, printer canon pro 100 series. i do a control p and the blank page prints but does not go away on the screen.
 

PhilBurton

Lightroom enthusiast (but still learning)
Premium Classic Member
Premium Cloud Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
2,249
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,496
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service

ualcaptret

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2020
Messages
5
Thank you for all your help.
I have solved my problem by reinstalling my Canon Pixma Pro 100 software.
I now have my plug in extras option so I can print from the plug in extras. I also have now my options window where I can back up or skip this time before I shut down
I realize you prefer the print module but my logic is I have a Canon printer, use Canon ink why not use their plug in.
It has been a very good year for me. I have made very sharp prints in LR from a Trumpeter swan with a 10' wingspan to a 5" yellow warbler in flight.
After using LR 5.7 for many years I am still trying to master it.
Many thanks again
Bob Kelly
[email protected],com
And if they ever let us yanks back in England you will find me over at the Cask & Glass by the palace enjoying a Spitfire Ale.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,496
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I realize you prefer the print module but my logic is I have a Canon printer, use Canon ink why not use their plug in.
Lightroom offers Softproofing. Softproofing is a process that lets you emulate the appearance of the image on a particular printer and paper in the develop module on a projected display. You can’t do this with just the Canon software.


There are very few Manufacturers plugins for Lightroom that actually improve the effort the Lightroom has put into the product.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Top