• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

mbartle

New Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2021
Messages
8
Lightroom Version
CC & Classic
Operating System
  1. Windows 8
  2. Windows 10
  3. iOS
Hi, I recently uploaded all my photos to the cloud via CC. I subsequently installed the LRC on my desktop and began to sync. I got few thousand pics in and decided I wanted them to sync to a portable hard drive instead. How can I restart this process? I see a butto that says delete all syncd data but does that erase the cloud too?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
1,589
Location
Queensland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
No process needs restarting. Nothing need be Deleted. Nothing requires Importing.
*See the 'Hint' below!
Open the Lr-Classic Preferences to the 'Lightroom Sync' Tab and define [Choose] the portable Drive as the Location for downloaded files to be saved.
ScreenShot046.jpg

Restart LrC and future downloads go to that location.

For photos that have already downloaded to the default download folder {MobileDownloads.lrdata} (that appears like an additional Drive), you can 'Move' them over to a folder on the portable Drive by Drag & Drop in the folder panel.

Notes: You can only Sync ONE Classic Catalog with the Cloud.
Hint: Rename the Portable Drive with a Drive Letter that is further down the alphabet (eg. "P:" ) Then it will always be linked to the Catalog with the same Drive letter "P:" and never appear to be 'Missing'.
 
Top