• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Two users on iMac accessing the same shared Lr Catalogue, photos on Synology NAS.

mstrathmore

Mark Strathmore
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
3
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Lightroom Version
Lightroom classic 8.3.1
Operating System
macOS 10.14 Mojave
Hello folks, a newbie tech question that I'm hoping somebody with technical Lightroom skills can help with.

I recently bought an iMac and upgraded to Lightroom classic CC.

  • Both my wife and I use the same computer; each of us has our own account and I want both of us to use the same catalogue as out photos are of mutual interest.
  • I store the Lr catalog in the \Users\Shared folder so that we both have access to it (sidenote: the catalogue is also backed up to OneDrive which replicates it to a Synology NAS. Call me paranoid).
  • All photos are stored on a Synology NAS in the default \Photo folder, which we both have access to.

Here's the frustrating thing: I can see and work with Lr on the photos. I shut down Lr (because Lr cannot handle more than one user at a time looking at a catalogue) and log out to allow her to log in and open Lr. She then sees the catalog, but all photos are simply grey squares!

The only way I can fix it is by deleting the file "Lightroom Catalog Previews.lrdata" and restarting Lr; then all of the previews appear.

The problem is that the next time *I* log in, I see grey squares! I have to delete the same file.

And so we toggle on...

Has anyone got two users working on an iMac properly? Surely this can't be a unique or difficult scenario?
Cheers,
Mark.



https://www.facebook.com/groups/LRReaders/#
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,329
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I have seen this before. If I remember rightly, it was the file permissions /ownership on the previews that are the problem - not just the package file but all of the individual previews inside it. If you can't get it working after you've fixed the permissions, the other alternative is to put the catalog on an external drive, which should allow you to ignore ownership.
 

mstrathmore

Mark Strathmore
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
3
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
I have seen this before. If I remember rightly, it was the file permissions /ownership on the previews that are the problem - not just the package file but all of the individual previews inside it. If you can't get it working after you've fixed the permissions, the other alternative is to put the catalog on an external drive, which should allow you to ignore ownership.
Thanks Victoria,

I suspected it must be a permissions issue. Good to hear I might be on the right track.

I'll keep at it!

Mark.
 
Top