Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
5.x
Lightroom Version Number
Lightroom 5.7.1
Operating System
  1. Windows 8
Hi. Thanks in advance for any help that you may provide.
I've been using Lightroom 5 for a few years, and have purchased Lightroom 6. I have held off from transitioning so that I can clean up my Lightroom 5 catalog, and properly back things up.
My biggest question is this:
I have noticed on this site that catalogs ARE NOT backwards compatible.
So, should I:
Create a new catalog for Lightroom 6 thereby preserving anything previous to this transition?
Should anything happen in Lightroom 6, can I still use photos imported to a Lightroom 6 catalog in Lightroom 5?
Are any adjustments made in Lightroom 6 detectable in Lightroom 5?
What do you think about importing into the Lightroom 5 catalog, then using that catalog with Lightroom 6? Is that possible or advised?
Am I being too overly cautious? (I always like to have a Plan B) Are there any potholes/pitfalls to avoid with a transition? Any tips/suggestions/advice are GREATLY appreciated. Please include any horror stories that may be applicable and lessons learned.
Thank you all!

Am I being too overly cautious?
Yes.
When you first start LR 6, it will convert your LR 5 catalog into a new format that is only usable in LR 6. Note that this is a copy of your old catalogue--the old one is still there, where it always was, and you can still open that catalogue in LR 5. There aren't any horror stories--everything from your LR 5 installation carries over to LR 6. It is always a good idea to have a current backup before you start, and it would also be a good idea to upgrade your LR 6.0 to LR 6.14 before actually doing any work.

Yes.