Transferring edits of a single image

Status
Not open for further replies.

JosephN

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2016
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
There are times when I want to just take the edits I've done in LR on my laptop where the image file is on a portable hard drive and just transfer them to my desktop which already has the image file but does not have the edits of that specific file. How do I transfer my edits?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,997
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Create a develop preset from just that one image and save it. Then copy that develop preset from the laptop develop presets folder to the develop preset folder on the desktop. The only thing that can't be set in the develop preset is the crop window.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,997
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
There are times when I want to just take the edits I've done in LR on my laptop where the image file is on a portable hard drive and just transfer them to my desktop which already has the image file but does not have the edits of that specific file. How do I transfer my edits?

Use 'Metadata - Save Metadata to File' on the laptop. That will create an XMP file if the image is proprietary raw, or save the edits in the metadata in case of DNG and RGB files like TIFF or JPEG. Copy this to the desktop (in case of DNG/TIFF/JPEG you must overwrite the file on the desktop). Then in Lightroom on the desktop you select the image and choose 'Metadata - Read Metadata from File'. Remember that this will transfer/overwrite other metadata (such as keywords) too.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,997
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Create a develop preset from just that one image and save it. Then copy that develop preset from the laptop develop presets folder to the develop preset folder on the desktop. The only thing that can't be set in the develop preset is the crop window.

The adjustment brush can also not be saved in a preset.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,997
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
The adjustment brush can also not be saved in a preset.
You are correct. In fact none of targeted Adjustment tools can be save in a Develop preset. The XML file is the only means to share all settings
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,997
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
And i asume it's possible to export this one image as a catalog also on the laptop? (and import it back on the desktop).

It would, but as this image is already imported in Lightroom on the desktop, you have to know how to handle that.
 

Roelof Moorlag

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
1,450
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
but as this image is already imported in Lightroom on the desktop, you have to know how to handle that
Yes, that's true. On the other hand there is a benefit of not losing edits you could have made in the meanwhile on the image on the desktop. When that is the case, the imported version from the laptop wil come in as a virtual copy. Afterwards you can decide if you want to keep both or not. This is the method i use myself a lot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top