• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The November 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes the ability to export the same photos as multiple sizes/formats in a single export, content aware fill for panorama edges and more. It does require a catalog format upgrade and there are updated system requirements, so you may want to wait a few days before upgrading.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options (such as TIFF format, renaming and color space), custom sort order on the desktop, copy/paste to multiple photos on iOS and more.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Develop module Too Many Adjustment Brushes

rzarbo

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2008
Messages
41
Location
Middletown, CT. USA
Operating System: Windows 10
Exact Lightroom Version (Help menu > System Info): LR Classic 77.2

Hi,
I seem to have acquired over the years a surfeit of Adjustment Brushes. Is there a way to organize them or load them and remove them as needed?

Hoping someone can help as I can't seem to find and answer to this.

Thanks, Robin
 

thommy

Active Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
150
Location
Sweden
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Operating System: Windows 10
Exact Lightroom Version (Help menu > System Info): LR Classic 7.2

AFAIK - you can delete and rename local Adjustment Brush presets.
Just hit the double pointed arrows next to the name of the brush to open the list of all presets.
Select a preset and choose rename or delete at the bottom of the list.
Note, you cannot delete or rename anything in the upper section of the list (the ones that are above the line in the list).
The upper section options are not presets and retain the last settings use.

Hope this helps!!

Thommy

PS.PNG
 

tspear

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
1,769
Location
Waltham MA
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
I made the mistake of installing a "free" package of preset brushes at one point. Since I am lazy and did not want to delete each one by hand. I contact Adobe support, mentioned I was a programmer and asked how to a do a mass delete. I do not recall the exact steps, but it was pretty easy.

So if you are comfortable getting into the low level, let me know and I can search my notes to see if I still have the directions.

Note: in my case I did not want to keep any, since I do not use them.

Tim
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,083
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Yes, you can manually remove these presets by deleting them from their folder. In the Lightroom preferences, go to Presets and click on the 'Show Lightroom Presets Folder'. The ones you're after are in the 'Local Adjustments Presets' subfolder.
 

rzarbo

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2008
Messages
41
Location
Middletown, CT. USA
Thank you for the replies. It looks like there is not just a simple way to organize or delete these brushes. I wish I could just remove and reload them as easily as you can in Photoshop. Oh well.... Thank you all, again.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,083
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Thank you for the replies. It looks like there is not just a simple way to organize or delete these brushes. I wish I could just remove and reload them as easily as you can in Photoshop. Oh well.... Thank you all, again.
To disable them: Just move them to another folder and restart Lightroom
To reload them: Just move them back and restart Lightroom
 

Ian.B

Active Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2014
Messages
982
Location
Mildura, NW Victoria, Australia
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
and the dumb question --- why have so many preset/loaded brushes ?
it's just that I never think about using brush presets even though I use the adjustment brush a lot (??)
 
Top