• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! New cameras (including the Canon R5/R6), lens profiles and bug fixes, and the ability to disable built-in lens corrections for specific new cameras. Here's the usual list

There has to be a way to restore the edits of 700 photos I just accidentally removed from LR catalog

Peter DeGiglio

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2017
Messages
2
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Please tell me that I did not just WASTE the last 24 hours of my life. I have been editing over 700 photographs since yesterday morning. I was going through them one last time to make slight adjustments and found a photo that I hadn't noticed was out of focus before so I decided to remove it. Well, I guess I had accidentally selected "select all" and send all 700 photos, edits and all, in the trash....



Hahahahahahaha... not funny.



So, anyway, what is the keyboard shortcut that undoes this in one second? Because there has to be one, right? I didn't just waste an entire day of my life that I won't ever get back, right?



Can't wait to hear what button to press to make tis problem go away instantly! Thanks!



-Peter
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
10,230
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Wouldn't that be awesome if that were an option though?
It is an option, unless you did not only remove the photos from the catalog, but also deleted them from disk. If you did that, then there is no way back.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
10,230
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
As you are using a Mac, do you use Time Machine backup? If so, you could try if that is a solution. Time Machine makes hourly backups, so you might be lucky and find a useable backup that contains most of the edits. Don't trash your current catalog, though. A catalog from a Time Machine backup might be unstable, if it was copied while you were working on it.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,310
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Couldn't you first go to the trash and recover them and then use Undo? That's assuming you haven't exited LR, of course.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
10,230
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Couldn't you first go to the trash and recover them and then use Undo? That's assuming you haven't exited LR, of course.
I don't think undo is available if you deleted the files from disk.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,310
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
You could well be right, but if the world were a rational place, it would be. :)
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,456
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Yep, it isn't.
While true, The deleted image files are most likely there for re-editing.

I infer from the OP's "Wouldn't that be awesome..." comment that the button pressed was {Delete} and not {Remove} even though "remove" was the operative word used by the OP.
 
Top