• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

Text Filtering

Smokeonthewater

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2021
Messages
7
Location
Paris
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
5.x
Lightroom Version
5.3 [938183]
Operating System
  1. macOS 10.13 High Sierra
Hi All,

I am working on improving my metadata.

I hoped to find a way to filter out all pictures that would "not contain" a title or caption text for instance.
But I haven't found the way to do it if any as the filters are not offering an option such as "show if empty".

Is there a way to show images that have empty text fields ?

Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,370
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I’m not on LrC at the moment. Some fields allow for the option “is empty” I can’t remember if Title is one of them.

“Does not contain” will always work. For the criteria [a b c and so forth for 26 letters on to x y z] Note the space between letters. Alternately [a e i o u] if you always have word that contain one of the vowels.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,296
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
The Smart Collection criteria for both "Title" and "Caption" have the "Is Empty" operand.
 

Smokeonthewater

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2021
Messages
7
Location
Paris
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
5.x
I’m not on LrC at the moment. Some fields allow for the option “is empty” I can’t remember if Title is one of them.

“Does not contain” will always work. For the criteria [a b c and so forth for 26 letters on to x y z] Note the space between letters. Alternately [a e i o u] if you always have word that contain one of the vowels.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Pretty clever to use all alphabet letters or numerals with a "does not contain" operand to look for empty fields. But Jim's answer here below kills it. Thanks Clee.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,370
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I got enthusiastic too quicly I guess. LR 5.3 doesn't have the "is empty" operand available. :(

Is Empty is a feature added in a more recent version. That’s why the alphabet solution was developed long ago. Not every field has a “is Empty” option so the alphabet solution is still needed for those that don’t. I originally suggested both solutions because I could not remember which field had “is Empty” and which did not.

The space character in the criteria field represents the “OR” function. So the criteria gets interpreted as {Doesn’t contain}{a OR b OR c…}


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

Smokeonthewater

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2021
Messages
7
Location
Paris
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
5.x
Is Empty is a feature added in a more recent version. That’s why the alphabet solution was developed long ago. Not every field has a “is Empty” option so the alphabet solution is still needed for those that don’t. I originally suggested both solutions because I could not remember which field had “is Empty” and which did not.

The space character in the criteria field represents the “OR” function. So the criteria gets interpreted as {Doesn’t contain}{a OR b OR c…}


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Thanks Clee ! I got it working with the alphabet solution.
 
Top