• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Syncing Collections

Jobetim

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
2
Location
London UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Lightroom Version
LrC version 10.3
Operating System
  1. macOS 11 Big Sur
Hi there. I'm trying to Sync a collection so I can share it with a client, but there's no option to sync in the 'create collection' dialog box, and no icon to the left of the collection to start syncing either. I'm aware of other threads saying this can be fixed by re-starting LrC, but that doesn't work for me. Any suggestions would be gratefully received - my client's waiting!

K
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,847
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Is the catalogue set to sync? Is Sync enabled?
 

Jobetim

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
2
Location
London UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Many thanks for your replies. It now seems to be working (how??) and hopefully will continue to do so…..
 

BobT

Active Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
226
Location
Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Is it a static Collection or a Smart Collection? Only Static Collections will sync with the cloud.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Thanks, that answers part of my problem. It seems one can't sync a published collection either. I'm trying to sync images that I have in a published collection. I can pull them out into a smart collection but as you say, one can't sync a smart collection. Is there a way around it? Obviously I can manually copy the images into a static collection then sync it but it would be nice to have it automated.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,178
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Joined
Jan 6, 2018
Messages
441
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
An other way would be to create a smart publish collection (say "B") with the criteria "is in collection A". A would be a static collection. Each time you put a photo in A, it will automatically be added to the publish collection B. Both A and B will contain exactly the same photos, but since A a static collection you could sync it, as well as publish collection B.
 
Last edited:

BobT

Active Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
226
Location
Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic

BobT

Active Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
226
Location
Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
An other way would be to create a smart publish collection (say "B") with the criteria "is in collection A". A would be a static collection. Each time you put a photo in A, it will automatically be added to the publish collection B. Both A and B will contain exactly the same photos, but since A a static collection you could sync it, as well as publish collection B.
I'm sorry, perhaps I misunderstood your instructions but I was not able to make it work. However the Jeffrey Friedl "Smart Collection Sync" plug-in mentioned above, worked.
 
Top