• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Are you ever disappointed with your photos? Do you get frustrated when you’re editing because you’ve been told to move certain sliders, but never been told WHY? Do you wish you could transform your photos without having to spend hours in front of the computer? In my new book, Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro, you’ll learn:
    • how to to analyze a photo like a pro, saving you hours of frustration.
    • WHY you might want to move specific sliders, instead of just following recipes.
    • what the sliders are doing behind the scenes.
    • how to use sliders together, instead of in isolation, so you can get the optimal result
    The book is based on the cloud-native Lightroom desktop and mobile apps, but the principles also apply to Lightroom 6 and Lightroom Classic. The sliders are arranged into slightly different panels, but there's an included PDF that shows you where to find them in Lightroom Classic/6.

Synchronise Chromatic aberration and lense correction not working

leoderu

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2020
Messages
3
Lightroom Version
Adobe photoshop Lightroom classic 9.3
Operating System
macOS 10.15 Catalina
Hello every one :)

I'm new on this forum and also I learned to use Lightroom on my own for two years now. And... I discovered about the chromatic aberration and tense correction just now (yes I know... shame!)
But few days ago I printed a picture big size, and I noticed instantly this problem. So now I tried to put this preset automatically on all my picture (15 000). I used the synchronized option, but when I do so, it apply the chromatic aberration and lense correction to my picture, but with that it also flatten my color curve. The problem is that I want to apply this two correction preset to all my pictures without flattening my curves (on the 15 000 pictures).

Anyone here had this problem or could give me any kind of solution ?

I also need to explain you how I apply the settings. When I have the window where I can tick the boxes to synchronise de settings of my pictures I just tick all the boxes for lease correction (Profile correction of the lease, chromatic aberration, distortion of the lens and lens vignetting) Then down below I also Tick the process version and I don't tick the box of tone/color curve. So it copy correctly the lens and chromatic correction, bBut still it flatten the curve on the next image without changing any other settings.

I've been looking all day now on the internet and I can't find any information :(

I would be delighted to receive some advice or help

Thanks a lot

Léo
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
2,236
Location
Fort Myers, FL
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
You should be able to look back at a photo that it changed, and look in the history, and see if anything shows. More importantly (since it probably just says synchronize) you can click back and forth before and after, and check the settings shown in the sliders all through, and see if anything else changed. in particular, did it change version? I.e. did you have some that were version 1 or 2 and now they are 5? That can have a very visible impact as settings were not really preserved between those old versions and new.

Sadly there's no good path to undo all those, unless by chance you had a catalog backup from just before and haven't done much since.
 

leoderu

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2020
Messages
3
Hello Thanks for the answer. I just did it several times and I observe only that my boxes (of aberration and lenses correction) got ticked and the curves that flatten. What is really weird, is that it only does that when I Synchronise my setting. Because, when I tick the two boxes directly on every single photo, the curves are not moving.

Where can I see the version ?
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
2,236
Location
Fort Myers, FL
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I'm very confused but let's see if we can sort this out a bit. Last question first: In the develop module the version is in the Calibration section:

version.jpg


It's really only version 1 and 2 that are an issue and that's VERY old, so if your work is only two years old, this is not the issue. The issue, if it exists, is that conversion from version 1 or 2 to version 3-5 could cause visual differences, sometimes substantial. Conversion from 3 or 4 to 5 should not show any visible change, certainly not what you described.

But let me describe what I was saying. I took some trash photos and I did a synchronize of one to another. I just checked all boxes on the synchronize list. This is what Lightroom looks like AFTER the synchronize. Ignore it for the moment and keep reading.

After.jpg


Now I went in with the mouse and on the left side in History, I clicked back one step in history. Notice the top (most recent) step is my synchronize. It doesn't matter so much what it was before that (well, unless you did multiple synchronizes), in my case it was an export. When I click on that prior step, the image that appears is what it looked like before. If you follow the red lines you'll see two sliders moved relative to the screen shot above (more below....)

Rollback.jpg


Here's what I am trying to suggest -- you said you did a synchronize only with lens corrections, and had substantial change in appearance, I assume beyond what a lens correction should do. Those changes have to come from some setting change, somewhere. All the global settings live in that right panel (not just the one shown, it could be others not expanded in my screen shot). You should be able to click back and forth in the history panel, and see the image change back (if it doesn't -- there's something else going on). If it changes, you should be able, clicking back and forth, see what setting changed, and that might help understand what happened.
 

leoderu

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2020
Messages
3
Thanks again for your very precise answer, but sadly I see your suggestion but I already tried this.

Let me explain and I will try to be as precise as you are :)

I have a photo A and B (which are version 5 or 4). Both of them are edited and I already changed to tone curve on each one. But for both of them I forgot (at the import) to apply the Chromatic aberration and lense correction.

1. first I apply a preset I made (which is ticking only the two boxes I want to change). I can apply this preset on only one picture at a time. I can't do select all pictures and apply this preset to Tick the boxes on all my library. SO. I apply this preset only on the picture A. Everything works fine. The two boxes are ticked and there is no change in my colors, light or anything on the image.

2. After, because I can't apply the preset on all my pictures at the same time. I decide to do a test only on picture B (in case of problem, it's easier to undo the synchronisation). So first I select my picture A, and after I select picture B. Than I do right click, and I click on synchronise settings. I have the pop up window asking me on which settings I want to synch. I choose only lense correction, chromatic aberration and process version (which seems to be mandatory). I click ok.

3. Then I go to the picture B where I synchronized the previously said corrections. The two boxes are ticked everything is fine. Than I do what you suggest, I go to history and I go back and forth checking the right panels changes. I can see the tone of the image changing. So after checking all the settings and noticed that when I apply my preset with the two correction it also flatten the curve of my tone/color curve. So I cancel my preset and start these three steps again.

So to conclude, when I just add my preset to the picture from the left side panel (registered preset) no problem the curve doesn't get flat and no change in the image editing. But when I synchronise this image with the reste of my pictures it tick the two boxes properly but also flatten all the tone curves.

As I have 15 000 pictures, it would be very annoying to synchronise a preset that would also change the curve. Change I really don't want to happen.

I looked all around internet and I can't find any solution.

thanks a lot for your time. :)
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
12,387
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
2. After, because I can't apply the preset on all my pictures at the same time. I decide to do a test only on picture B (in case of problem, it's easier to undo the synchronisation). So first I select my picture A, and after I select picture B. Than I do right click, and I click on synchronise settings. I have the pop up window asking me on which settings I want to synch. I choose only lense correction, chromatic aberration and process version (which seems to be mandatory). I click ok.
I don't know why the Synchronize Settings option is producing the results that you see, however I just wanted to point out that you CAN apply a preset to all your pictures at the same time using. There are at least two methods:

1. Select all the images that you want to apply the preset to, using the Grid in the Library module. From there open the Quick Develop panel and yiou can select the preset from the "Saved Preset" box at the very top of that panel. Provided the images are selected in the Grid, the preset will be applied to all the selected images.

2. In the Develop module, again select all the images, then turn on AutoSync (click on the little switch at the left side of the "Sync" button at the bottom right of the screen. With AutoSync enabled, apply the preset from the Presets panel and it will be applied to all the selected images. Remember to turn AutoSync off again when the sync has completed.

Test either or both of those methods on a few images before you decide to hit all 15,000.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
2,236
Location
Fort Myers, FL
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Thank you, and sorry for all the typing, but it helped. And didn't.

I think I understand what you are doing, but I cannot see the problem. I'm also confused about this Preset but I tried this:

- Took an image A with negligible processing. Applied a strong tone curve to be very visible. Found an image B also with negligible processing, confirmed it had a linear tone curve. Neither have lens corrections.

- Went back to B and added lens corrections.

- Sync'd B to A, checking only lens correction and process versions

At this point A, which had a strong tone curve, still had the exact same tone curve, i.e. syncing did not affect it.

- Manually removed lens corrections in image B (linear tone curve)

- Sync'd from A to B

At this point B had lens corrections but retained its linear tone curve.

So I can't make a synchronize change the tone curve with only the lens corrections checked.

Now all that said -- the appearance of the image does change, including the tone. Slightly, primarily from vignetting corrections (which I had checked). But the tone curve itself does not move. And I take it you are saying the tone curve shown (not just the image appearance) changed.

So I'm stuck. Maybe someone has better ideas. Some other stuff to think about though:

Can you eliminate the preset from all this, take a couple of unprocessed images (or reset a couple), and do everything manually without the preset, and do the bare minimum you can to recreate the problem?

Checking the process version is recommended and a good idea but not required; you can test without.

I'm also unclear about the comments you cannot apply the preset to multiple images. Is that just because it is inappropriate for them all? Or is there more to the story, because you can apply presents to lots of images. I'm just not clear if this preset is part of the issue in some way. Presets can be funny things, they contain a lot of information (sometimes more than you expect) and some of that information (e.g. profiles, including lens profiles) will not "take" on an image if the target image does not match (different camera, different lens). Hence my suggestion above to try to reduce the amount of change, for testing purposes, to the bare minimum.
 
Top