• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The May 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. There's a brand new slider called Texture, available across the whole family of apps. Lightroom Classic includes a new tool called Flat Field Correction. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has lots of big improvements including cloud trash, invitation-only web galleries, improved chromatic aberration removal and more. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes. You'll also notice the CC's have disappeared off the end of the names, so we've updated the forum names to match.

Synching keywords from LR to PS CC

Butlerkid

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2019
Messages
2
Lightroom Version
LR Classic CC
Operating System
Windows 10
(When using LR, I have metadata saved to XMP files.) I have many photos that were originally processed using Bridge/PS CC. These images were imported to LR. When viewing the images using LR, all the keywords and other metadata seem correct.

Now I have discovered that the Bridge keyword file has been corrupted. Only about 10% of the keywords show up as Persistant. The rest are all italicized.

If I open LR, can I select a folder and select Synch and choose "Overwrite disk settings with those from the LR catalog " to re-populate the Bridge keyword listing so that the images on my disks contain all the keywords?
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,223
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Hi Butlerkid, welcome to the forum.

If everything looks right in Lightroom, then yes, the overwrite command is fine. Rather than syncing the folder (which can have unwanted consequences if you don't read the options properly), just select all and hit Ctrl S to write the metadata to the files. If a little conflict icon appears in the top right corner of the thumbnails, click on it (with them all still selected) and choose Overwrite.
 

Butlerkid

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2019
Messages
2
Thank you so much! For now, I have copied my Bridge2018 Keyword file into my Brdge 2019 folder. I think that worked!
 
Top