Strange LR JPG export dull colours vs Photoshop exported JPGs

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

scuba_suzy

I’ve been looking for a place to ask this question and perhaps this is it. Its a bit difficult to explain because I don’t have a concrete example to show you here (at work). And I’m a LR newbie :|

What is the diff between the JPGs exported from Lightroom & the JPGs exported by Bridge/PS3? I have this weird issue that is sort of stopping me want to transfer fully over to LR. In theory they should be the same, Raw+XMP in ACR in PS or LR right? But when LR renders & exports the JPG it seems dull and lacklustre compared with the same Raw+XMP opened in PS3. Is this a colour space issue? A ACR issue? It is most apparent once the JPG is them shrunk to a thumbnail. Maybe its a different type of JPG or something?

Here is sort of an example... see the 1st three images in this gallery...
http://www.pbase.com/suzy_walker/redsea2''9

the 1st one is LR rendered ACR opened in PS3 and exported as a JPG. The thumbnail here looks the same as the larger version (when you click the image)
the second and third images are exported as JPGs straight from LR. Notice that the thumbnail image is much more dull than the larger image (when you click the image).

Does anyone know what could be causing this? The same process auto generates the thumbnails (on upload to pbase) so it must be some difference in the JPG.

Many thanks

Suzy

I downloaded the thump + the large of the snapper and the thumb + the large of Hooked.

Snapper thumb has no embedded profile
Snapper large has the sRGB profile embedded
Hooked thumb has no proflle
Hooked large has the ProPhoto profile embedded.

My first suggestion is to make sure that both thumb and large has the same profile and that no photo ever should be on the web with the ProPhoto profile. Try to embed sRGB into all or no profile at all.

In LR and in PS you can choose which profile (colorspace) to embed at export.

// Bosse

Hi Bosse