• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! Color Grading and improved zoom across the whole Lightroom family, plus graphical watermarks for the cloud-based Lightroom apps, as well as the usual new cameras, lens profiles and bug fixes. See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Smart previews fail to build

Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
25
Location
UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I've been using Lightroom 5 for 3 years, and recently upgraded to Lightroom 6.

In Lightroom 5, Smart Previews automatically built for every RAW file that I imported. Now I get an error message stating that "Smart Previews failed to build". I have checked my import settings and I have the Smart Previews box checked, so I don't know why I.m getting the error message.

Can anyone help?
 

Gnits

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2015
Messages
1,241
Location
Dublin, Ireland.
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Try the following.

In Grid View select an image which does not have a smart preview and ....

click Library > Previews > Build Smart Previews.

If you get an error message post a copy of the message here.

Report back either way.

Also check how much spare disk space you have where your catalog is stored.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
25
Location
UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Try the following.

In Grid View select an image which does not have a smart preview and ....

click Library > Previews > Build Smart Previews. - I get the same error

If you get an error message post a copy of the message here - message below - I tried to buld smart previews for 4 DNG Files - all 4 fail to build Smart Previews
upload_2017-1-28_18-12-51.png

Report back either way.

Also check how much spare disk space you have where your catalog is stored.[I have 791 Gb Free so I don't think that storage is an issue]
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,684
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Hi Anthony, welcome to the forum!

Is it happening for all images, or just specific ones?

Has anything else changed on your computer, other than the LR6 upgrade? Something like a Windows 10 update that could have changed file permissions?

And can these photos be edited in Develop ok?
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
25
Location
UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Hi Anthony, welcome to the forum!

Is it happening for all images, or just specific ones? - its happening with all images

Has anything else changed on your computer, other than the LR6 upgrade? Something like a Windows 10 update that could have changed file permissions? - I don't think there has been an Windows update that has changed permissions - Like all Windows 10 users I do get the problem of Windows resetting default apps, but I'm not using Lightroom as a default app - last Windows 10 update was Update for Windows 10 Version 1607 for x64-based Systems (KB3211320) - Installation 25/01/17 - I was having problems before this.

And can these photos be edited in Develop ok?[The photos are all converted from RAW to DNG and therefore editable]
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,684
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Ok, my next port of call would be to find the catalog on the hard drive and delete the *SmartPreviews.lrdata folder and try again. You'd have to rebuild any existing smart previews, but hopefully it will solve it.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
25
Location
UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Ok, my next port of call would be to find the catalog on the hard drive and delete the *SmartPreviews.lrdata folder and try again. You'd have to rebuild any existing smart previews, but hopefully it will solve it.
Victoria, thank you for your latest piece of advice, deleting *SmartPreviews.lrdata folder worked!
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,684
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Excellent, thanks for the update!
 

PhilBurton

Lightroom enthusiast (but still learning)
Premium Classic Member
Premium Cloud Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
2,286
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Hi Anthony, welcome to the forum!

Is it happening for all images, or just specific ones?

Has anything else changed on your computer, other than the LR6 upgrade? Something like a Windows 10 update that could have changed file permissions?

And can these photos be edited in Develop ok?
Same problem just cropped up for me. I had to reset permissions on the Smart Previews folder. It seems that in the middle of the night Windows does strange things like changing file/folder permissions.

Phil Burton
 

joonnie64

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2020
Messages
2
I found the SmartPreviews.lrdata FILE, but I could'nt fine a FOLDER. Where could I find it?
I am experiencing the same problem as Mr. Marson's after I upgraded to the new LR Classic version.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
10,401
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
I found the SmartPreviews.lrdata FILE, but I could'nt fine a FOLDER. Where could I find it?
Smart previews are a folder on Windows and a 'package' on Macintosh. A package is really a folder, but it looks like a file in the Finder.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,787
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Smart previews are a folder on Windows and a 'package' on Macintosh. A package is really a folder, but it looks like a file in the Finder.
Just because it has a period (.lrdata) in the name does not mean that it is a file or folder. Look at the icon assigned by the OS to determine type. "myFolder.jpeg.ext.another ext.ext" is a legitimate file OR folder name. So is "IMG1234.jpg. .exe". Except that the latter is an executable windows file that some malicious person might send you hoping to introduce malware when you click on it hoping to see an image.
As Johan points out, MacOS has a concept of a package of files and folders inside a folder wrapper. Previews and Smart previews are packages on a Mac. Adobe simply extended the package concept to Windows where it is not a special folder.
 

joonnie64

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2020
Messages
2
Smart previews are a folder on Windows and a 'package' on Macintosh. A package is really a folder, but it looks like a file in the Finder.
I got it! I use a Mac. Thank you! Nevertheless, my problem with smart previews doesn't disappear by deleting the package...
 

BillyN

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2020
Messages
1
Just Joined your group.
I've just upgraded Lightroom Classic on my Windows 10 PC to Version 10.0. Now it fails to create Smart Previews when importing images. It does however successfully create Smart Images if I select an imported image an request it to create one. I have tried removing the SmartPreviews.lrdata folder as suggested in previous responses and same problem exists.
Any suggestions welcome...
 

crshlagor

New Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2020
Messages
2
I've been using Lightroom 5 for 3 years, and recently upgraded to Lightroom 6.

In Lightroom 5, Smart Previews automatically built for every RAW file that I imported. Now I get an error message stating that "Smart Previews failed to build". I have checked my import settings and I have the Smart Previews box checked, so I don't know why I.m getting the error message.

Can anyone help?
I wish I could but I’m having the same issue. It started when I upgraded Lightroom CC on my MacBook Pro. I now have to always go to “Library>Previews>Build Smart Previews” after every import to get them to build. No idea why it started doing this.
 

LVO1-SBCGLOBAL.NET

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2019
Messages
1
Same issue here. However, if you select the images you just downloaded into LR, and then click on Library>Previews>Build Smart Previews, it will tell you that smart previews already exist or were built.
 
Top