• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! Color Grading and improved zoom across the whole Lightroom family, plus graphical watermarks for the cloud-based Lightroom apps, as well as the usual new cameras, lens profiles and bug fixes. See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Sluggish Lightroom and brush tools with new PC.

Bxbche

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2016
Messages
9
Location
Lake Charles, LA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I just completed a PC build to replace my 2010 dell laptop. I was focused on building a PC that would perform great for Photoshop and Lightroom


my new PC has the following

i7 6700k overclocked to 4.4 ghz (4 core / 8 threads)

64gb gskills ripjaws 5 ram ddr4

gigabyte SOC force z170 Motherboard

dual m.2 Samsung 950 pros in RAID 0 total of 1 TB (3100 mb/s transfer speed)

samsung 850 ssd 1TB (500 mb/s transfer speed)

evga NVIDIA 970 ftw+ GPU with 4 GB DDR5

win 10 home.

Dell 27 inch 4K monitor


When using Lightroom to edit photos in develop module my new PC takes sometimes seconds to update the image to the current version. And when using a brush the updates lag dramatically almost making it unusable.

During this time my GPU and Processor are not even at full load ?????


Catalog size shows 9505 images. Total catalog size 272.05 MB. Total preview cache size is 10 gb. Medium quality at 3840px resolution. Smart previews are 422 MB.

I I turned off automatically update XMP and have removed unneeded 1:1 previews.


What is causing such poor performance? What can I do to improve?



My new system has great benchmarks in cinebench ,other benchmark systems, and in Photoshop

thanks
 

Roelof Moorlag

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
1,351
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Is your catalog on the SSD too or on a second (EHD) drive?
Your GPU is on the compatibility list but it's worth trying disabling it inLightroom to see what happens (Edit | Preferences | Tab Performance | Uncheck 'Use Graphic Processor')
 

tspear

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
1,799
Location
Waltham MA
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Also, when you did the restore to move everything over from your old machine. The previews, what do you have them set to generate?
 

Bxbche

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2016
Messages
9
Location
Lake Charles, LA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
My catalog is on my fastest drive - the PCIe NVME RAID 0 SSD (drive has 84% free space)
Current working Images are stored on my second SSD (normal samsung 850 EVO)
Backup image copies and some older images that are in my catalog are stored on my NAS.

I tried disabling the GPU in lightroom and performance was worst. Resizing and moving radial filters was not smooth but jerky.
I did a fresh install except copying over my catalog directory to the new machine.

For the preview images - i generate 1:1 previews for the images i am currently editing and they are set for Auto PX (3840 px) with medium quality.

I went back and turned off more background apps also.

I am beginning to think it is lightroom having issues with the 4K display resolution.
 

Bxbche

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2016
Messages
9
Location
Lake Charles, LA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I updated to latest version of LIghtroom CC and it seemed to improve a little. Anyone see an improvement with the newest version?
 
Top