• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! Color Grading and improved zoom across the whole Lightroom family, plus graphical watermarks for the cloud-based Lightroom apps, as well as the usual new cameras, lens profiles and bug fixes. See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Slideshow module Slideshow Issues with Upgrade

Joined
May 6, 2017
Messages
40
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic version: 9.3 [ 202005281810-476e492c ]
Operating System
macOS 10.15 Catalina
After upgrading to the latest version, my Slideshow module has issues. I never had these issues before upgrading.

For one, it insists on building previews every time I click Play, no matter how many times I’ve played the show previously. It builds the previews slowly, then never shows a completed progress bar in the Preparing Slideshow window before the show starts to play.

Things I’ve done to try to fix it include:
  • Restarting the computer and Lightroom (and optimizing the catalog)
  • Going to Library>Previews>Build 1:1 Previews and forcing Lightroom to build previews for all the images in the show
  • Deleting the Previews cache
Another new problem is that the music is choppy. It stops every few seconds. If I hit the spacebar to pause the show, then hit it again to resume, the music resumes—before stopping again a few seconds later. The show keeps playing, however. This problem happens intermittently—not on every show and not every time.

Any ideas? Have I inadvertently changed a setting somewhere? Did the upgrade change a setting that I'm not aware of? I checked Catalog settings and Preferences, and don’t see anything that could be causing this.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,613
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
The slideshow builds not previews but finished JPEGs (that include labels, titles, etc.) in a staging area in Working storage. If you exit LrC, then this working storage is freed up and returned to the OS. If you are seeing this in the same session of LrC, then you may have encountered one of the security issues implemented in Catalina.
 
Joined
May 6, 2017
Messages
40
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Thank you, Cletus. Yes, even within the same session, LrC takes the time to rebuild the JPEGs every time I click Play. If this is a Catalina-related issue, other users must be experiencing the same thing. It's pretty annoying when you're iterating versions of a show and have to wait for LrC to build these JPEGs each time. Even if I don't change anything at all, it still does this.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
1,378
Location
Queensland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
In Windows-10, I also see this for the SS 'Preparing....'. Also annoying the wait for a long SS!
It happens every time and for every method:
-Click the > icon
-Click the [Play] button
-Press [Ctrl+Enter]
 
Joined
May 6, 2017
Messages
40
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
If you're experiencing this in Windows, that would indicate that it may not be a Catalina-related problem.
 

Woodbutcher

Active Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
172
Location
Austin, TX
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I see it on both my Mojave iMac and my Catalina MB pro. Latest version of LR
 
Joined
May 6, 2017
Messages
40
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I was hoping this would get fixed in the October 2020 release, which I installed yesterday, but it wasn't. I've read threads on other forums where people describe the same problem. They say 9.2.1 was the last version where this did not happen.

On the Lightroom Classic Feedback page, in response to a post about this problem, Adobe employee GOapher says (s)he has raised the issue with the development team. That was four months ago. Apparently not enough people use the Slideshow module for this issue to get sufficient priority in the list of issues to fix.
 
Top