• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Are you using the cloud-based Lightroom apps for Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, Apple TV and Web? Then you'll love my new book, Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro!

    You'll learn how to use the Lightroom cloud ecosystem to organize, edit and share your photos. You'll also come to understand the thought processes used by professional photographers when they're editing their own photos, so you can transform your photos quickly and easily. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! There's new Presets in all versions, Super Resolution on the desktop, new Sharing options and more. See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Single Master Catalogue vs Separate Catalogues for Classic & Cloud?

Joined
Jun 13, 2020
Messages
2
Lightroom Version
Both subscription versions
Operating System
  1. macOS 10.15 Catalina
  2. iOS
Hello All,

I’m relatively new to this, so would welcome your collective thoughts:

Is it better to have a single master catalogue that I then sync between Classic and Cloud, or should I have separate catalogues in each and just sync edits between the two?

Or just pick one version of LR and stick exclusively to that?

Thanks
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,104
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Lightroom cloud does not have a local catalog, so you don't have this choice. It uses the cloud as its catalog and as the place to store the images. What it stores locally is just a cache to speed up your work and to allow you be offline temporarily. When you sync the Lightroom Classic catalog, it syncs to that same cloud.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
17,848
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
"One catalog to rule them all, one catalog to find them, One catalog to bring them all, and in the darkness bind them; In the Land of Mordor where the shadows lie."

If you sync a local Lightroom Classic Catalog to the cloud, you only get one catalog to sync. If you decide to switch to another LrC catalog , Lightroom in the cloud will remove all of the images currently sync'd catalog to the cloud and. then attempt ro sync the images from the new catalog.

There is no reason to ever have more than one LrC catalog is you are not doing commercial work where business rules might require segregation of client data.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2008
Messages
185
Hello All,

I’m relatively new to this, so would welcome your collective thoughts:

Is it better to have a single master catalogue that I then sync between Classic and Cloud, or should I have separate catalogues in each and just sync edits between the two?

Or just pick one version of LR and stick exclusively to that?

Thanks

I would do the last option. Syncing beteeen LrC and Lr is not recommended by Adobe, and is for experts IMHO.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,027
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I would do the last option. Syncing beteeen LrC and Lr is not recommended by Adobe, and is for experts IMHO.
Adobe are OK with syncing LrC with the cloud, i.e. smart previews from Classic. After all, that was a fully supported workflow well before the Lightroom desktop app was introduced in 2017. The complications that Adobe are wary about is when one tries to get originals into the cloud instead of just Smart Previews. So provided the OP keeps it simple one LrC catalog syncing with the cloud, thus having all images available on web and mobile, should be perfectly fine.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,027
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
If you sync a local Lightroom Classic Catalog to the cloud, you only get one catalog to sync. If you decide to switch to another LrC catalog , Lightroom in the cloud will remove all of the images currently sync'd catalog to the cloud and. then attempt ro sync the images from the new catalog.
I'm not quite sure what you're saying here, Cletus. The way it works, if you decide to switch syncing from the current LrC catalog to a different catalog, is that all the existing contents of the cloud are retained and thus will be downloaded into the new catalog. This functionality was added by the "catalog recovery" routine which was introduced in LR6.8 (IIRC), and remains current today. Last year I completely reconstituted my LrC master catalog by creating a new empty catalog and enabling it to sync, so all the my images in the cloud (all originals) were downloaded into that new catalog.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
17,848
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
'm not quite sure what you're saying here, Cletus. The way it works, if you decide to switch syncing from the current LrC catalog to a different catalog, is that all the existing contents of the cloud are retained and thus will be downloaded into the new catalog. This functionality was added by the "catalog recovery" routine which was introduced in LR6.8 (IIRC),
My experience then is out of date then. Initially, I sync'd a large number of images to the cloud (well over 1000) I made a copy of my master catalog and gave it another name. When I went to sync that copied, renamed catalog with the cloud I got a warning message that I was syncing a different catalog and the images in the cloud would be removed. When I chose to proceed, it removed those ~1000 images from the cloud that were sync'd from the original catalog and proceeded the to sync the "new" catalog with the same ~1000 images. From that I concluded that Adobe will only sync one LrC catalog at a time and never tried to do that again.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,027
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
You're correct that only one LrC catalog can be the active synced catalog, but it is possible to switch syncing from the currently synced catalog to a different one. This is the message you'll receive when you try to do that:

Capture9.PNG
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
17,848
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
You're correct that only one LrC catalog can be the active synced catalog, but it is possible to switch syncing from the currently synced catalog to a different one. This is the message you'll receive when you try to do that:

View attachment 15389
Yes, That is a different message than the one I receive long ago. Initially I think Adobe chose only to remove the existing images instead of adding them to the new catalog. I wonder why would happen if the images in the cloud already exist on the new to be sync'd catalog?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,027
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I wonder why would happen if the images in the cloud already exist on the new to be sync'd catalog?
If they're not images that were already synced from the other catalog, then I'd expect Classic's duplicates detection would kick in and you'd end up with the new synced images showing up as Virtual Copies.
 
Top