• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! New cameras (including the Canon R5/R6), lens profiles and bug fixes, and the ability to disable built-in lens corrections for specific new cameras. Here's the usual list

Sidecar file missing

pjamedia

Active Member
Joined
May 6, 2008
Messages
101
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Just a quickie - I did a Ctrl-S to create sidecar files in order that I could browse the images in Bridge and run a PS script on them (with settings applied). Once all done, I deleted the sidecar files. Then when browsing the set back in LR, I get an icon shown in the top right of each grid in grid view (like a movie clip with a ?) and when hovering over this icon it displays 'Sidecar file missing' . OK I can understand that it thinks I'm using a sidecar as I did a Ctrl-S earlier. If I click the icon, it gives me an option panel with the message: "do you want to forget about the sidecar files or continue to track them?"
OK I can click the forget button, but this only carries out the choice for the one image, and you need to do this for all images one by one. Is there any way to get it to forget about using sidecars for all images in one go?

Thanks, Paul
 

pjamedia

Active Member
Joined
May 6, 2008
Messages
101
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Have attached pic of screen to show you the grid icon I see and a second showing the message I get when clicking the icon.

Just want to know if there is a way to do a 'Forget' option for multiple images rather than having to click each in the grid in turn to get the message box then click Forget for each - its a pain!

Thanks, Paul
 

pjamedia

Active Member
Joined
May 6, 2008
Messages
101
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Brad - the second one! Just bugs me that something so simple is overlooked in the design. I.e. having the option by default to carry out operations on multiple items - any options which can be carried out on one or more images etc, not just this one.

Thanks for your response, Paul A
 

sizzlingbadger

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
2,561
Location
New Zealand
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Tried autosync ? it works in LR3 for updating all images to the new raw algorithms so maybe it will work for your issue in LR2. I haven't had his issue as I use dng.
 
Top