Sidebar panel widths

rctneil

Active Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2012
Messages
181
Location
Cheshire
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Is there a way to increase the width of the side panels in LR? I have some quite long collection names and they are pretty repetitive near the beginnings and very awkward to view without being able to increase the panel widths?
 

JohanElzenga

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
8,173
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Unfortunately, no. You can make them smaller than the default, but not bigger. You can change the font size used in Lightroom's panels to either "Small" or "Large" using a dropdown in the Edit >> Preferences >> Interface dialog. Restart Lightroom for the change to take effect.
 

rctneil

Active Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2012
Messages
181
Location
Cheshire
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Ok, it's a really annoying issue as I can't view the full collection names all one view without hovering over each of them!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Jim Wilde

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,282
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Yes, you can use the grab handles (which will appear when you hover the cursor over the existing edge of the panels). That will allow you to increase the panel width to a set maximum size. However, on OSX you can also hold down the Alt/Opt key while you drag the grab handle....that allows you to increase the panel width to about half the width of the screen.
 

Jim Wilde

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,282
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
It's a tip I picked up from Victoria a while back, but I've just checked "The Missing FAQ" and I see it's on page 81 of the LR6 version.
 

rctneil

Active Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2012
Messages
181
Location
Cheshire
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
It is a strange one. Why put an arbitrary width on the panels anyway. Set a default and allow the user to expand and contract it as much as they like. Simples!
 

I-See-Light

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
1,040
Location
Queensland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
:( ALT does not work for a wide panel in Windows!
 

Jim Wilde

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,282
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8

rctneil

Active Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2012
Messages
181
Location
Cheshire
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
I have to admit, it is odd that it doesn't work cross platform?
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,756
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
Maybe Victoria asked for it so she could sell more books that reveal the hidden features of Lightroom... :p
LOL!

On Windows, you used to be able to stretch them beyond the standard limit without needing an extra key, but that seems to have died with Windows 10.

Jeffrey's Configuration Manager used to be the other way of doing it, although I haven't tested its panel width controls in LR6. Worth a shot. Jeffrey's Lightroom Configuration Manager
 
Top