• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Should I uninstall older Adobe programs before downloading/installing CC

TRCPhoto

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2020
Messages
8
Location
Central New Jersey
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
Lightroom Version
None yet, about to download Photography Plan
Operating System
  1. macOS 10.15 Catalina
Hi all, I'm late to the game in discovering Catalina isn't compatible with the old standalone programs (I guess I held out hope Adobe would change their mind and keep supporting it... like in high school when I thought Barbara would realize what kind of jerk her boyfriend was and run to me, but I digress!)

Anyway, should I delete the old programs before downloading CC, or does it matter? I suppose I'm most curious about deleting Lr 6.14 and if that will effect LrC from connecting to that catalog? I also have Elements and Premier that I suppose are now redundant too. Is there any benefit to keeping these until after the downloads or no?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,631
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
It doesn't matter, but there are no benefits either.
 

TRCPhoto

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2020
Messages
8
Location
Central New Jersey
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
UPDATE to previous post: I went ahead and jumped in. LrC created a new catalog (-2) and opened to show all the previews, but unlinked as I'd imagine as I moved everything from an EXD to a NAS. I opened a folder, clicked on the (!) icon to locate the file. Went right to it on the NAS drive, chose it expecting that image and the rest would link back up... INSTEAD IT DELETED ALL THE PREVIEWS! I'm panicked! Scrolling the cursor over the folder name shows the old EXD as the files location, is there a step I'm missing for updating that? I thought the process was to relocate one image and the rest would fall in line?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,599
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
UPDATE to previous post: I went ahead and jumped in. LrC created a new catalog (-2) and opened to show all the previews, but unlinked as I'd imagine as I moved everything from an EXD to a NAS. I opened a folder, clicked on the (!) icon to locate the file. Went right to it on the NAS drive, chose it expecting that image and the rest would link back up... INSTEAD IT DELETED ALL THE PREVIEWS! I'm panicked! Scrolling the cursor over the folder name shows the old EXD as the files location, is there a step I'm missing for updating that? I thought the process was to relocate one image and the rest would fall in line?

The previews folder from the old version would have been renamed when the new version created an up-dated (-2) catalog file. If this Previews folder is not in the same folder as the new catalog file, Lightroom will generate an new previews folder. This is nothing to be concerned about as the Previews folder are fluid and new previews get added all the time. Full size previews will get deleted on the schedule set in preferences. Lightroom will only generate previews on originals if the app accesses an image and there is no preview available.

As long and you did not reimport then there is noting to be concerned about.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

TRCPhoto

New Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2020
Messages
8
Location
Central New Jersey
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
The previews folder from the old version would have been renamed when the new version created an up-dated (-2) catalog file. If this Previews folder is not in the same folder as the new catalog file, Lightroom will generate an new previews folder. This is nothing to be concerned about as the Previews folder are fluid and new previews get added all the time. Full size previews will get deleted on the schedule set in preferences. Lightroom will only generate previews on originals if the app accesses an image and there is no preview available.

As long and you did not reimport then there is noting to be concerned about.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Quick followup question, is it safe to delete the original catalog? Catalog-2 contains all the edits and actions but is just usable for the LrC, correct?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,631
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Quick followup question, is it safe to delete the original catalog? Catalog-2 contains all the edits and actions but is just usable for the LrC, correct?
If you are sure you are not going back, then it's safe to delete the old catalog.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,570
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
If you're not sure, you can zip it up and archive it.
 
Top