• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The November 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes the ability to export the same photos as multiple sizes/formats in a single export, content aware fill for panorama edges and more. It does require a catalog format upgrade and there are updated system requirements, so you may want to wait a few days before upgrading.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options (such as TIFF format, renaming and color space), custom sort order on the desktop, copy/paste to multiple photos on iOS and more.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Are you using the cloud-based Lightroom apps for Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, Apple TV and Web? Then you'll love my new book, Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro!

    You'll learn how to use the Lightroom cloud ecosystem to organize, edit and share your photos. You'll also come to understand the thought processes used by professional photographers when they're editing their own photos, so you can transform your photos quickly and easily. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Selecting multiple contiguous images in grid view......

hillbill

Dreaming of a better world.......
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Messages
17
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Lightroom Version
4.4.0
Operating System
iOS
This is driving me crackers and I’m sure you must be able to do this!

I just want to be able to select multiple contiguous images with a gesture rather than having to click on each individual image. This is on an iPad Pro with the current mobile version.

All help greatly appreciated! Make me sane again!

Graham
 

hillbill

Dreaming of a better world.......
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Messages
17
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Maybe I’m not so mad then! Normally I would be selecting, maybe 150 images out of a batch of 450, clicking them is a bit tiresome! I’m sure I’ve seen this working, maybe Android? Oh well, if it can’t be done I’ll just need to accept it.....
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,738
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
It can be done. Select the first one of the range then press and hold on the first one and slide your finger down (or up) to the last one. As you slide, all the images in between are checked.
I find it a little fiddly, but it definitely can be done.
 

hillbill

Dreaming of a better world.......
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Messages
17
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Cheers Jim, trying that, so in grid view, press and hold on an image. This gets the selection tick. Then I release my press and perform another press and hold on this image and drag but no other images are selected.

Is there an option to switch this functionality on? Can’t see anything.....
 

hillbill

Dreaming of a better world.......
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Messages
17
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
This sounded like the answer but still no joy, just doesn’t select any other images :(
This is in an album grid view, should work here, no?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,826
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Once the first image is selected, press and hold on its checkmark, then drag.

As I said, it's a bit fiddly, but you should be able to get it working.
Following your instructions, All that happens for me on myiPhone is the. Selected image (all all of the others) scroll up or down the screen. I tried the same on the iPadPro for a n identical result.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,738
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Yes, grid view in albums or All Photos. I've successfully done it on 4 different devices so far (2 x iPads,1 x iPhone and 1 x Android phone). Are you using the menu>Select option first?
 

hillbill

Dreaming of a better world.......
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Messages
17
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
:( Tried it on both of my Ipads, not working on either, however, my Android phone is working fine, pretty strange but at least I can see that I have the right technique! Android version is 4.4.1 whereas the Ipads are 4.4.0 but this is the latest one available. Pretty weird!
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,738
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Weird indeed. On of my iPads is still running version 3.4.0, so it's definitely not a version issue.

One thing I did notice, which may or may not be relevant, is that when the first image is correctly selected I have to drag to select the image to the right before I can drag up or down. If I try to drag up or down from the first selected image the entire grid will move up or down, and dragging left has no effect. This means that if the first selected image is at the extreme right-hand side of the grid row, it won't work (which I suspect is a bug).
 

Roelof Moorlag

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
1,128
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
One thing I did notice, which may or may not be relevant, is that when the first image is correctly selected I have to drag to select the image to the right before I can drag up or down. If I try to drag up or down from the first selected image the entire grid will move up or down, and dragging left has no effect. This means that if the first selected image is at the extreme right-hand side of the grid row, it won't work (which I suspect is a bug).
Yes, it worked for me on an old i-pad (LR 3.4) after multiple unsuccesful attempts. You have to select the 'selection tick' accurate before you can move the image.
 

hillbill

Dreaming of a better world.......
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Messages
17
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Cheers Jim, yes, even dragging to the image to the right of the selected one doesn't work. On the android mobile you can just long press to select the image and then just move around to select other images (all with a single press). Both of the Ipads are the Pro version, not sure if this is relevant though. I guess I'm stuck with selecting images with a tap for the time being. Thanks for your help, most appreciated.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,826
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Yes, grid view in albums or All Photos. I've successfully done it on 4 different devices so far (2 x iPads,1 x iPhone and 1 x Android phone). Are you using the menu>Select option first?
Yes, but I figured it out AFTER selecting the first image you have to select a second image before you can drag select more and you can only move left or right to select adjacent images on that row. When you are at the end of that row you can move up or down to the next row and again swipe left or right. Intuitatively, you want to select the first image then swipe up/down until you reach the last image to be selected. This only scrolls the panel as I indicated earlier
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,738
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Yes, but I figured it out AFTER selecting the first image you have to select a second image before you can drag select more and you can only move left or right to select adjacent images on that row. When you are at the end of that row you can move up or down to the next row and again swipe left or right. Intuitatively, you want to select the first image then swipe up/down until you reach the last image to be selected. This only scrolls the panel as I indicated earlier
Did you not see my post #11?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,738
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,826
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
I think the important part is that even though the select option is on, the OS is still in Scroll mode and dragging only actuated a scroll. It is after that first image is selected does the OS switch to “drag to add” mode. I’ve even been able to select one or two here, 3-4 there, scroll those off the screen, select several more.
 

hillbill

Dreaming of a better world.......
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Messages
17
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Yep, 'fraid so, tried every which way! Move to the right, move to the left, diagonal, straight down! No joy.... Kind of resigned to individual tapping now!
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,826
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Yep, 'fraid so, tried every which way! Move to the right, move to the left, diagonal, straight down! No joy.... Kind of resigned to individual tapping now!
Try this:
1 Select an image, it gets a blue check mark
2. Lift your finger.
Double tap and keep your finger down to Select a second image. It gets a check mark. With your finger still on that 2nd image drag your finger left or right to another unselected image. It will gain the check mark and the blue border
3 with the finget down continue dragging and selecting images that you want.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

hillbill

Dreaming of a better world.......
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Messages
17
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Cheers, will give it a go tomorrow and report back!
 
Top