Saved edits and deleting files

  • Thread starter Thread starter evie
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
E

evie

Guest
Hi
I have 2 questions using Lightroom on a PC:

1. I have saved all my edited DNG files to an external drive, but when I re-import them to Lightroom it isn't the edited DNG files - the file reverts to the unedited NEF file? Months of work are wasted??

2. When I delete files using Lightroom it doesn't actually delete the files, leaving them in the explorer folder (using Photo, delete photo)?

What am I doing wrong in both instances, as this is REALLY irritating.

Thanks for any help in advance (please use simple terms)
Evie
 
Evie, what exactly are you doing with regards to saving your edited DNG files. Do you cmd/s or do you have autowrite on?.
If you have converted to DNG your NEF files they DNG files must be somewhere.
How are you reimporting? From where?
The deleting I am not sure about on a PC but on a Mac you get the choice of remove from LR, or delete from disc - which moves to the trash.
 
The delete option doesn't appear to work for me..

Hi
Thanks for that info. I know this is dumb but I didn't know that you had to ctrl/s!! Doh.

With regards to the delete, even after I have supposedly deleted the files using the delete option in Lightroom, the "deleted files" are still sitting on my hard drive and using up space.
So it looks like the delete and remove option in Lightroom work the same. :(

Any suggestions why this isn't working please?
 
Evie,

If you are deleting while viewing images in a Collection then LR will simply remove them from the Collection but leave them on the disk. However, if you are in Folders view then LR should prompt you and ask if you just want to delete this file from the catalog or from the disk. If you pick disk then it will be moved to the trash. Once you empty your trash the image is indeed gone and you have regained the disk space.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top